Is Welch’s Grape Jelly Vegan 2023? All Ingredients Analyzed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Welch’s Grape Jelly is a popular condiment that has been around for decades. It has become an American classic, known for its sweet and tart flavor. But, is Welch’s Grape Jelly vegan?

Welch’s Grape Jelly is vegan because it doesn’t contain ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Welch’s Fruit Spread flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Concord Grape JellyVegan.
Concord Grape JamVegan.
Natural Concord Grape SpreadVegan.
Reduced Sugar Concord Grape JellyVegan.
Strawberry SpreadVegan.

Is Welch’s Strawberry Spread Vegan?

Welch’s Strawberry Spread is vegan because it doesn’t contain ingredients derived from animals.

Welch’s Fruit Spread Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Calcium Chloride
  • Citric Acid
  • Concord Grapes
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fruit Pectin
  • Grape Juice Concentrate (For Color)
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Lemon Juice Concentrate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Pectin
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Strawberries
  • Sugar
  • Water


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a tricky ingredient because there is an instance where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being the most popular one.

Raw cane sugar is always vegan, but it’s often refined to before it’s used in products and in this refining process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process is not okay for vegans.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it’s often contains several different ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label. So if the ingredients are derived from animals they would remain hidden and only be on the ingredients label as natural flavors.


Corn is one of the most common GMO crop in the US and many vegans are avoiding it. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is used, which can cause severe damage to the environment.


It’s amazing that the 5 flavors of Welch’s Grape Jelly are vegan-friendly. Remember to always read the ingredients label because companies can change their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts