Is Unreal Candy Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Unreal dark chocolate candy is an amazing candy brand with many tasty flavors. They are non-GMO project certified, gluten-free and contain fair trade certified ingredients. However is Unreal Candy vegan?

All flavors of Unreal Dark Chocolate flavors are vegan except Caramel Peanut Nougat Bar because it contains milk.

Below is a table showing Unreal Candy flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Dark Chocolate Coconut BarsVegan.
Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter CupsVegan.
Dark Chocolate Peanut GemsVegan.
Dark Chocolate Almond Butter CupsVegan.
Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups With Crispy QuinoaVegan.
Dark Chocolate With Crispy QuinoaVegan.
Dark Chocolate Caramel Peanut Nougat BarNo, contains Milk.
Milk ChocolatesNo, contains Milk.

Unreal Candy Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Cane Sugar
  • Chocolate Liquor
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Dark Chocolate (Chocolate Liquor
  • Organic Blue Agave Inulin
  • Organic Cane Sugar
  • Organic Cassava Syrup
  • Organic Coconut
  • Organic Crisped Quinoa
  • Organic Grass-Fed Whey Protein
  • Organic Palm Oil (Sustainably Sourced)
  • Organic Peanut Flour
  • Peanuts
  • Sea Salt
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Vanilla


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


One flower contains whey protein and it does not matter it’s grass-fed because what that mean is that the cows fed with grass. The milk still comes from cows and is not a vegan ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

This ingredient is controversial because it can sometimes be associated with bone char from dead cows. In candy and sweets, cane sugar is one of the most popular sugar used and in order to make the cane sugar fit the product better it’s often refined.

In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char. This does not align with veganism because it’s using/exploiting animals in the production process. This would make the sugar non-vegan in many vegans eyes.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a tricky ingredient for vegans because many would claim that it is not vegan-friendly. If we just look at the ingredients, then yes palm oil does not contain any animal-sourced ingredients, which would make it vegan. However the industry itself has been poorly regulated, resulting a severe deforestation, forcing wild animals to leave their homes such as orangutans.

This terrible act have made many vegans agree on that the suffering caused for the wild animals is not okay and that palm oil would not be vegan-friendly because of this. And I would agree with that because there are many other vegetables that does not force wild animals from their homes to make room for the industry.

There is however an organisation called RSPO, that are actively working with companies to help them produce sustainable palm oil and reduce the environmental impact. This would make palm oil more vegan-friendly and I see many products that has a vegan label use palm oil in their products.

If a trusted organisation such as and vegan society is approving products with sustainable palm oil then yes we should trust their judgement on the matter. The palm oil in Unreal chocolates is RSPO-certified and many flavors are also certified vegan.


It’s amazing that so many flavors of Unreal chocolates are vegan and I absolutely love the tasty. Many ingredients such as cane sugar and palm oil, is a problem for vegans, but when a product is certified vegan from a trusted organisation, it makes our lives so much easier.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts