Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Udi’s Gluten Free Bread Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Udi’s Gluten Free Bread is a delicious and nutritious option is made with whole grains and is packed with fiber and protein. It is also low in calories and has no artificial ingredients. Udi’s Gluten Free Bread is a great choice for a healthy, gluten-free diet. But, are Udi’s Gluten Free bread vegan?

No flavors of Udi’s Gluten Free bread is vegan because they all contain egg whites.

Below is a table showing Udi’s Gluten Free bread flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Hearty Sprouted Grains Artisan BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Hearty 7 Seeds & Grains Artisan BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Delicious Soft White Sandwich BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Cinnamon Raisin BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Omega Flax & Fiber BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Millet-Chia BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Whole Grain Hamburger BunsNo, contains Egg Whites.
Classic Hot Dog BunsNo, contains Egg Whites.
Classic French Dinner RollsNo, contains Egg Whites.
French BaguettesNo, contains Egg Whites.
Delicious Whole Grain Sandwich BreadNo, contains Egg Whites.
Classic Hamburger BunsNo, contains Egg Whites.

Udi’s Gluten Free Bread Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Baking Powder
  • Brown Rice
  • Cane Sugar
  • Canola Oil
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Chia Seeds
  • Citrus Fiber
  • Cooked Pinto Bean Grits
  • Corn Starch
  • Cultured Brown Rice
  • Dried Cane Syrup
  • Dried Egg Whites
  • Egg Whites
  • Enzymes
  • Flax Seed
  • Guar Gum
  • Inulin
  • Invert Cane Sugar
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Millet
  • Modified Cellulose
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Modified Tapioca Starch
  • Molasses
  • Monocalcium Phosphate)
  • Organic Sprouted Amaranth Flour
  • Organic Sprouted Millet Flour
  • Organic Sprouted Sorghum Flour
  • Pea Starch
  • Poppy Seeds
  • Potato Starch
  • Psyllium Husk Fiber
  • Pumpkin Seeds
  • Pyrophosphate
  • Resistant Corn Starch
  • Rice Bran
  • Salt
  • Sodium Alginate
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Sorghum Flour
  • Sunflower Seed
  • Tapioca Maltodextrin
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Tapioca Syrup
  • Water
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Yeast

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Egg Whites

Eggs comes from hens and products/ingredients from animals is not something that vegans eat.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Cane sugar is a very popular sugar, but mostly in candy and snacks, however cane sugar can be found in many of the Udi’s Gluten Free bread flavors. Cane sugar is a risky ingredients for vegans, because it’s often refined before used and in this process it’s also bleached.

A common bleaching method is to use bone char from cows and this does not align with veganism. Exploiting animals in the production process would classify the sugar as non-vegan by many vegans. It is however impossible to know if the sugar has been refined with bone char just by reading the ingredients label.

Only the company would know something like this and contacting them is the only way to be 100% sure.

Enzymes

Enzymes can be made from both animals and plants.

Corn

The reason I mention corn is the presence of GMO’s. Corn is a very common GMO crop and the problem with GMO crops is the high amount of herbicide that is being used. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.

There is an organisation called non GMO project where companies can get certified, to show costumers that there are no GMO’s in their products.

Conclusion

Egg whites are commonly used throughout all the flavors making them non-vegan. They also contain some questionable ingredients such as cane sugar and enzymes. The cane sugar always has the risk of being bleached in bow char and the enzymes might have been made with animal-sourced ingredients. Finding bread that don’t contain eggs should not be hard for vegans.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts