Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Trolli Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Trolli gummies are one of the most popular gummy brands on the market. They are known for their unique shapes and flavors. Trolli gummies are made with high-quality ingredients and can be enjoyed by many, but is Trolli vegan?

Trolli Dino Rex is vegan because it doesn’t contain any ingredients derived from animals. They rest of the flavors contains gelatin, making them non-vegan.

Below is a table showing Trolli Gummies flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Trolli Dino RexVegan.View On Amazon
Trolli Sour Brite CrawlersNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers OriginalsNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers Very BerryNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers Fruit PunchNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers WatermelonNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite Mystery Night CrawlersNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli SquigglesNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Gummi Creations Martian MixNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite OctopusNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite All Star MixNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Brite LlamasNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Sour Watermelon SharksNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Strawberry PuffsNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Peachie O’sNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Trolli Sour Brite Twisted CrawlersNo, contain Gelatin.
Trolli Classic BearsNo, contain Gelatin.
Big Bold BearsNo, contain Gelatin.
Sour Brite BearsNo, contain Gelatin.

Trolli Gummies Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Blue 1
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fumaric Acid
  • Gelatin
  • Lactic Acid.
  • Modified Food Starch (Corn)
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Red 40
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Sugar
  • Titanium Dioxide [color]
  • Yellow 5
  • Yellow 6

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Gelatin

Gelatin is mostly made from animals bones and ligaments, that is boiled.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a very controversial ingredients and the reason for that is the risk of bone char being used in the production process. Beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly, however refined cane sugar might not be.

The cane sugar is often refined before used in candy and sweets. This can cause problem for vegans because in this process the cane sugar is also bleached and one of the most common methods to bleach cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows.

Artificial Colors

Artificial colors are very common in candy in USA and there are a few problems with these colors, but the biggest problem for vegan is the animal testing. Artificial colors are known for being tested on animals and because of this, many ethical vegans tends to stay away from them.

Dietary vegans, might choose to consume these colors anyway since they are eating a plant-based diet purely for health reasons. It’s also worth to mention that there are other testing methods such as computer simulations that could replace the animal testing in the future.

Natural Flavors

This ingredient is very tricky for vegans and reason for this is the fact that natural flavors often consists of several ingredients, but the only ingredient you will ever see on the ingredients label is natural flavors.

This means that the source of all these ingredients is not disclosed and natural flavors could therefore contain ingredients sourced from animals. So vegans needs to be careful when it comes to natural flavors.

Corn

The reason I mention corn is that it’s of the most common GMO crops in USA. Herbicide is heavily used to grow these crops and it can pollute the surrounding environment and damage the ecosystem beyond repair.

Many vegans tends to look for products that are free from GMOs and thanks for the organisation non GMO project they are easy to spot, because they have a label saying non GMO project.

Conclusion

Gummy candies today very often contain gelatin and Trolli is no different with all flavors but one contain this ingredient. The Dino Rex candy flavor is certified vegan and if you are looking for vegan-friendly Trolli gummies, then Dino Rex is perfect.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts