Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Toblerone Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If there is one thing that I miss going vegan is all the choices of milk chocolate that I can’t eat as a vegan. I’ve tried of vegan chocolate and most of the time they don’t taste as good. Toblerone has always been a favorite of mine and when I went vegan I just stopped eating it without taking a look at the ingredients. Is Toblerone vegan?

Toblerone is not vegan. All Flavors of Toblerone contains milk, egg and honey. There are also a number of questionable ingredients such as sugar, almonds and vanillin flavouring, which could potentially be non-vegan as well.

So far Mondelez International don’t have a lot of vegan flavors, but don’t worry I will reveal a great vegan alternative to Toblerone later on in this article.

Is There A Vegan Toblerone?

Unfortunately there is no vegan Toblerone. I’ve made a table with all flavors of Toblerone that I could find and I listed it below together with its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
TobleroneNo, contains Milk, Egg & Honey.
Toblerone Crunchy AlmondsNo, contains Milk, Egg & Honey.
Toblerone Dark ChocolateNo, contains Milk, Egg & Honey.
Toblerone White ChocolateNo, contains Milk, Egg & Honey.

Toblerone Ingredients

Below are all the ingredients I could find from all Toblerone flavors.

  • Almonds
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Cocoa Mass
  • Egg
  • Egg White
  • Emulsifier (Soya Lecithin)
  • Flavouring (Vanillin)
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Honey
  • Milk
  • Salt
  • Salted Caramelized Almonds
  • Soya
  • Sugar
  • Whole Milk Powder

I have highlighted the ones that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Cows milk is not vegan, since it comes from cows.

A lot of different ingredient can use milk and in Toblerone you can also find whole milk powder.

Honey

All tho insects technically are not an animals, vegan tends to stay away from ingredients derived from insects as well, since we don’t want to exploit the animal kingdom for its sources.

The way we acquire honey is to give the bees sugar instead and then we take the honey for our own purposes.

This does not align well with veganism.

Egg

Egg and egg whites are not vegan either since it comes from hens.

Questionable Ingredients

Almonds

Almonds is a very hot topic within the vegan community.

Almonds do not contain any animal-derived ingredient, but it’s rather the production process that raises some issues for vegans.

The biggest production of almonds is in California and it’s not only that it requires a lot of water, it’s the fact the there are not enough bees to pollinate the almond trees.

So bees are shipped from all over the country to help with the pollination and as a result of this, a lot of bees die in the transport.

This exploit have made a lot of vegans turn their back on almonds and instead look for other more vegan-friendly nuts to eat.

Sugar

This is one of the biggest controversial ingredients in the vegan community. There are mainly sugar from two sources that is used in the candy industry and that is beet sugar and cane sugar. The more popular one of the two is cane sugar.

Beet sugar and raw cane sugar is indeed vegan-friendly, but when cane sugar gets refined, is when cane sugar can become something that vegans wants to stay away from. In the refining process of cane sugar, the sugar is often bleached using bone char from dead cows.

This is where refined cane sugar could become a non-vegan option. Bone char is not used all the time and a lot of the time. So when you see the ingredient sugar in candy and sweets, it’s probably refined cane sugar and this is why it’s a problem for a lot of vegans.

There is no way of knowing for sure unless you contact the company and ask.

Flavouring (Vanillin)

Vanillin flavouring is an ingredient that vegans really needs to keep their eye on.

This is mainly because National Geographic found out that goo from beaver butts is a common ingredient that is used from vanilla flavors.

There is a high chance that this ingredient it not vegan-friendly.

Soya

Soy is a common GMO crop in USA and the problem with this ingredient is the fact that a lot of herbicide is used in order to gain good yields.

This can damage the surrounding ecosystems and a lot of vegans tend to look for products that has the label Non GMO project, to be that they don’t consume GMO products.

Vegan Alternative To Toblerone

I found two great vegan toblerone alternatives:

Hu Dark Chocolate Bars. They taste amazing and will satisfy most taste buds.

Milkless Chocolate Bars. This also a great vegan alternative to Toblerone.

FAQ’s

Is Toblerone Vegetarian?

Toblerone is vegetarian, more specifically Toblerone is suited for Lacto-Ovo vegetarians, because all flavors contains both milk and egg.

FlavorVegetarian Status
TobleroneLacto-Ovo.
Toblerone Crunchy AlmondsLacto-Ovo.
Toblerone Dark ChocolateLacto-Ovo.
Toblerone White ChocolateLacto-Ovo.

Is Toblerone Halal?

Toblerone is in fact halal certified. They got their certification in 2018 according to Fortune.com.

Is Toblerone Kosher?

Toblerone is kosher certified and which means that more people can eat this delicious chocolate.

Conclusion

As you can see Toblerone do not fit the vegan diet at this time. Who knows, maybe they will too release a vegan Toblerone in the future.

A lot of companies are creating vegan alternatives today, to keep a lot of their costumers.

Vegan chocolate has always been hard to for me to eat, because they don’t always taste that great, but the vegan alternatives that I found for Toblerone really surprised me!

Thanks for reading, take care.

Recent Posts