Is SunButter Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

SunButter is a peanut-free alternative to peanut butter that has been gaining in popularity among people with food allergies, health-conscious eaters, and those who are looking for a sandwich spread with a slightly sweet taste. But, is SunButter vegan?

All flavors of SunButter are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing SunButter flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Chocolate SunButterVegan.
Natural SunButterVegan.
Creamy SunButterVegan.
Natural Crunch SunButterVegan.
No Sugar Added SunButterVegan.
Organic SunButterVegan.
On the Go SunButterVegan.
5 pound tub of creamy SunButterVegan.
Chocolate On the Go SunButterVegan.
No Sugar Added On The Go SunbutterVegan.
Natural On the Go SunButterVegan.
Organic On the Go Pouch SunButterVegan.

SunButter Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Cocoa Powder
  • Mono- and Diglycerides
  • Roasted Sunflower Seeds
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Vanilla Flavor


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community, because there is a situation where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being the most popular in candy and sweets.

Raw cane sugar and beet sugar are always vegan-friendly, but before the cane sugar is used in a product it’s often refined and in this refining process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism.

Vanilla Flavor

Vanilla flavor is a tricky ingredient because it could contain ingredients derived from animals. There is an interesting article on National Geographic where they found out that butt goo from beavers can be used in some vanilla flavor.

Mono- and Diglycerides

This ingredient is questionable because it can be derived from animals and plants.


It’s amazing that all flavors of SunButter are vegan-friendly. Not many questionable ingredients are found and all of them are vegan-friendly as well. SunButter is a great alternative to peanut butter for those who are allergic to peanuts.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts