Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Smucker’s Jam Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

One of America’s most classic and well-known brands is Smucker’s, and their jam is one of their most iconic products. Smucker’s jam has been around for over 100 years and is known for its high quality and delicious taste. But, is Smucker’s jam vegan?

All flavors of Smucker’s jam are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Smucker’s jam flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Concord Grape JamVegan.
Strawberry JamVegan.
Seedless Strawberry JamVegan.
Seedless Red Raspberry JamVegan.
Blackberry JamVegan.
Seedless Blackberry JamVegan.
Red Plum JamVegan.
Cider Apple ButterVegan.

Smucker’s Jam Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Apple Cider
  • Apples
  • Blackberries
  • Citric Acid
  • Concord Grapes
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fruit Pectin
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Red Plums
  • Red Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Sugar

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community. In the candy and sweets industry the most common sugars used are beet sugar and cane sugar. Beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined, it could become a problem for vegans.

In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. There is no way of knowing if the sugar has been bleached with bone char and the only way to be sure is to contact the company.

Strict vegan might stay away from sugar all together, while other vegan eat products with sugar. You just have to decide for yourself if you want to consume sugar with the risk of it being bleached with bone char or not.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that all the Smucker’s jam flavors are vegan, but they do contain sugar, so it’s always a risk of the sugar being bleached with bone char. The effect of staying away from sugar is far from the effect of eating a plant-based diet. It’s up to each vegan how far you want to go with your diet.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts