Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Peanut butter has been a staple in American diets since the early 20th century, and Skippy Peanut Butter is one of the most popular brands. Skippy was first introduced to the market in 1933 and has since become an iconic food product; it is now found in millions of homes across the country. But, is Skippy Peanut Butter vegan?
Many flavors of SKIPPY Peanut Butter are vegan such as Peanut Butter Blended with Plant Protein Creamy, Creamy Peanut Butter, SUPER CHUNK Peanut Butter just to name a few. They are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.
Below is a table showing Skippy Peanut Butter flavors and its vegan status.
|SKIPPY Peanut Butter Blended with Plant Protein Creamy||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Peanut Butter Blended with Plant Protein Chunky||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Peanut Butter Squeeze Pack||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Creamy Peanut Butter||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY SUPER CHUNK Peanut Butter||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY ROASTED HONEY NUT Creamy Peanut Butter||No, contains Honey.|
|SKIPPY Reduced Fat Creamy Peanut Butter Spread||Maybe, contains Mono- and Diglycerides.|
|SKIPPY Reduced Fat SUPER CHUNK Peanut Butter Spread||Maybe, contains Mono- and Diglycerides.|
|SKIPPY Natural Peanut Butter Spread Squeeze Pack||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Creamy Peanut Butter Spread No Sugar Added||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Chunky Peanut Butter Spread No Sugar Added||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread with Honey||No, contains Honey.|
|SKIPPY Natural SUPER CHUNK Peanut Butter Spread||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Natural SUPER CHUNK Peanut Butter Spread with Honey||No, contains Honey.|
|SKIPPY Natural 1/3 Less Sodium & Sugar Peanut Butter Spread||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Creamy Peanut Butter Individual Squeeze Packs||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Individual Squeeze Packs||Vegan.|
|SKIPPY P.B. Bites Double Peanut Butter||No, contains Milk.|
|SKIPPY P.B. Bites Pretzel||No, contains Milk.|
|SKIPPY P.B. Bites Graham Cracker||No, contains Milk.|
Skippy Peanut Butter Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Copper Sulfate
- Corn Starch
- Corn Syrup Solids
- Ferric Orthophosphate
- Folic Acid
- Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
- Magnesium Oxide
- Mono- And Diglycerides
- Natural And Artificial Flavor
- Natural Flavor
- Nonfat Milk
- Palm Kernel Oil
- Palm Oil
- Pea Protein
- Peanut Butter
- Peanut Butter Coating
- Peanut Butter Flavored Center
- Peanut Flour
- Peanut Oil
- Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
- Rapeseed Oil
- Roasted Peanuts
- Soy Lecithin
- Soybean Oil
- Wheat Flour
- Whey Protein Concentrate
- Whole Milk
- Zinc Oxide
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
The milk comes from cow’s is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.
Vegans don’t eat anything insects either and since the honey is made from bees, vegans don’t eat honey.
Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient in the world today. This vegetable oil is known for its great productivity per square meter, but it comes with a vast deforestation. There are many animal such as orangutans and rhinoceros that are being forced from their homes because of the logging of the Rainforest.
This is a major problem and many people are looking for ways to help the problem. One way to help the problem is to search for products that contains sustainable palm oil. This means that the palm oil has been produced in a way that has a minimum impact on the environment and the wildlife.
The way this is achieved is through an non-for-profit organization called RSPO, which stands for Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil. They help companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil.
Sugar is a tricky ingredient because there is an instance where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar. Beet sugar is always vegan, but cane sugar might not always be.
Cane sugar is often refined before used in foods, snacks and candy. In this refining process the cane sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting even dead animals is against veganism and many vegans tend to stay away from cane sugar.
Many food companies add natural flavors to their food products. The problem with this ingredient is that it’s an umbrella term, meaning that it often consists of several ingredients and non of these ingredients are ever disclosed on the ingredients label.
This means that non-vegan ingredients could be added here, but the only ingredient you would ever see on the ingredients label is natural flavor. Vegans needs to be careful with this ingredient and the only way to be sure is to contact the company.
Mono- And Diglycerides
This ingredient can be derived from both animals and plants.
Many of the Skippy Peanut Butter flavors are non GMO Project certified, meaning that it does not contain any GMOs. However it’s still important to mention that corn is one of the most common GMO crops in USA and many vegans have a problem with these crops.
They require a high amount of herbicide and this can pollute the surrounding ecosystem, damaging it beyond repair. So vegans often look for products with the non GMO Project label.
It’s amazing that so many flavors of Skippy Peanut Butter are vegan and a big plus is that it tastes so good. Many peanut butter brands do have vegan-friendly flavors, but always be on lookout for honey, milk or mono- and diglycerides.
Thanks for reading, take care!