Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Silly Cow Hot Chocolate Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

In the chilly weather, there’s nothing like a cup of hot chocolate to warm you up. And there’s nothing like Silly Cow Farms hot chocolate to give you the best cup of hot chocolate you’ve ever had. However, is Silly Cow Hot Chocolate vegan?

Almost all flavors of Silly Cow Hot Chocolate is vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals. Chocolate Moo-usse (Vanilla) and Chocolate Marshmallow Swirl might be vegan as well, but they contain natural flavors, which could be sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Silly Cow Hot Chocolate flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Chocolate-chocolateVegan.
Chocolate Moo-usse (Vanilla)Maybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Chocolate TruffleVegan.
Chocolate Marshmallow SwirlMaybe, Natural Marshmallow Flavor.
Chocolate Sea Salt & CaramelVegan.
Chocolate Peppermint TwistVegan.
Chocolate Ginger SnapVegan.
Chocolate Java ChipVegan.
Chocolate Pumpkin SpiceVegan.
Udderly Milk ChocolateVegan.

Silly Cow Hot Chocolate Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Allspice
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Cocao Beans
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Coffee Powder
  • Dextrose
  • Dutched Processed Cocoa (With Alkali)
  • Ginger
  • Grand Cacao Cocoa (Dutched Processed Cocoa With Alkali)
  • Natural Flavor
  • Natural Cane Sugar
  • Natural Ginger Snap Flavor
  • Natural Caramel And Sea Salt Flavor
  • Natural Marshmallow Flavor
  • Natural Peppermint Flavor
  • Natural Pumpkin Flavor.
  • Nutmeg
  • Semi Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips (Dried Cane Syrup Silicon Dioxide To Prevent Caking)
  • Unsweetened Chocolate And Cocoa
  • Vanilla Beans

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Cane Sugar

Natural cane sugar is indeed vegan-friendly because it’s unrefined. The only way cane sugar can cause problems for vegans is when it gets refined. Cane sugar is often refined to fit the product and in this process the sugar is also bleached.

The most common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows and this does not align well with veganism. Exploiting animals in the production process would make the product not vegan-friendly.

Natural Flavor

This ingredient is a tricky one for vegans and the reason for that is because natural flavors is an umbrella. This means that it often consists of several flavors and source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

So natural flavors could contain ingredients that is sourced from animals and it would not be shown on the ingredients label. If you want to be sure about this ingredient then the best option would be to contact the company and ask.

Natural Marshmallow Flavor

The reason I put this ingredient under questionable ingredients is the fact that most marshmallows contains gelatin and we don’t know more about the natural marshmallow flavor. It could contain gelatin depending on the source of this ingredient.

Conclusion

Eight out of ten flavors being vegan is amazing and the last two flavors is probably also vegan as well, but they contain two variants of natural flavor and we can’t be sure if they are vegan-friendly. I contacted the company and I will update the article as soon as a get an answer.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts