Is Silk Soy Milk Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Silk Soy Milk is an excellent plant-based alternative to dairy milk. It has a creamy texture and a mild, nutty flavor that is sure to please most palates. Plus, it is loaded with nutrition and provides numerous health benefits that make it an ideal choice for everyone from vegans to those with lactose intolerance’s. But, are all Silk Soy Milk flavors vegan?

All flavors of Silk Soy Milk are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Silk Soy Milk flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Silk Organic Unsweet SoymilkVegan.
Silk Organic Unsweet Vanilla SoymilkVegan.
Silk Organic Vanilla SoymilkVegan.
Silk Original SoymilkVegan.
Silk Vanilla SoymilkVegan.
Silk Very Vanilla SoymilkVegan.
Silk Chocolate SoymilkVegan.

Silk Soy Milk Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Filtered Water
  • Gellan Gum
  • Natural Flavor
  • Organic Cane Sugar
  • Organic Soybeans
  • Organic Soymilk
  • Riboflavin [B2]
  • Sea Salt
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D2


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavor

The next ingredient is natural flavors and this is an umbrella term, meaning that it consists of several ingredients. For vegans this is a problem because the companies don’t disclose if the ingredients are derived from animals.

Non-vegan ingredients such as milk are often disclosed because of allergy. Since Silk Soy Milk is vegan, the natural flavors are of course vegan-friendly.

I think it’s important to also share an article at National Geographic, where they disclosed that companies can use butt goo from beavers in vanilla flavors. So always be on the lookout for different flavorings since it could potentially be non-vegan.


Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community because of the risk of bone char from dead cows being used in the production process. This problem is narrowed down to refined cane sugar, which means that raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly.

So why is the cane sugar refined? It’s because it helps the sugar fit the product better and it’s in this refining process the cane sugar could have been bleached using bone char. Because of this some vegans tends to stay away from sugar all together while others don’t. The choice is yours here.

The sugar in Silk is vegan-friendly.


Silk is an amazing vegan-friendly brand with many different products such as almond milk, soy milk, oat milk, creamers and different yogurt alternatives. Their soy milk tastes amazing and contains many healthy vitamins and minerals that our bodies needs.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts