Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Sazon Goya Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Spicy food is one of most important parts for me when cooking a vegan meal and yesterday I came across Sazon Goya at the grocery store. I stopped to look at the ingredients and today I’m answering the question, are Sazon Goya vegan?

All flavors of Sazon Goya maybe vegan, but they contain Tri-Calcium Phosphate which can be made from animal bones.

Below is a table showing Sazon Goya flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Sazon Goya Coriander & AnnattoMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya SaffronMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya Cilantro & TomatoMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Low Sodium Sazon Goya Coriander & AnnattoMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya Garlic and OnionMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya without AnnattoMaybe vegan, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.

Sazon Goya Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Annatto (Color)
  • Coriander
  • Cumin
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Dehydrated Tomato
  • Garlic Powder
  • Mexican Saffron
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Natural Color
  • Onion Powder
  • Red 40
  • Salt
  • Spices
  • Tri-Calcium Phosphate (Anti-caking Agent)
  • Turmeric (Color)
  • Yellow 5

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

Ethical vegans tends to stay away from this controversial ingredient. Artificial colors are know for being tested on animals and this does not align with veganism. There are other very effective methods of testing such as computer simulation that can do a great job instead.

There are also several health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in children. Some dietary vegans chose to consume these colors regardless so the choice is up to you if you are a dietary vegan.

Tri-Calcium Phosphate

This ingredient is highly questionable because it can be made from animal bones or derived from rocks. The source is not disclosed on the ingredients label so the safest way would be to either stay away from products with this ingredients or contact the company and ask about the source.

FAQ

Are Sazon Goya Vegetarian?

Sazon Goya might be vegetarian, but it contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate and this ingredient can either be derived from rocks or made from animal bones.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Sazon Goya Coriander & AnnattoMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya SaffronMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya Cilantro & TomatoMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Low Sodium Sazon Goya Coriander & AnnattoMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya Garlic and OnionMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.
Sazon Goya without AnnattoMaybe vegetarian, contains Tri-Calcium Phosphate.

Conclusion

As you can see some ingredients will be hard to determine if they are vegan or not and some ingredients will also be controversial where you have to make a decision in your vegan journey. In Sazon Goya it’s artificial colors, but in something else it might be refined cane sugar or palm oil.

The most important take from this is that you decide your own vegan journey, if it’s strictly dietary or ethical as well. Anyway you live it, you will spare a lot of animal, just by removing meat and dairy from your diet.

Thanks for reading!

Recent Posts