Is Sabra Hummus Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Sabra hummus is a delicious, creamy and nutritious dip that has become increasingly popular in recent years. It is made from simple ingredients like chickpeas, tahini and some spices, making it a healthier alternative to many other dips on the market. But, is Sabra Hummus vegan?

Almost all flavors of Sabra Hummus are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals. Greek Inspired Hummus is not labeled vegan to their website.

Below is a table showing Sabra Hummus flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Caramelized Onion HummusVegan.
Classic HummusVegan.
Everything Bagel Seasoned HummusVegan.
Greek Inspired HummusMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Jalapeno HummusVegan.
Lemon Twist HummusVegan.
Olive Tapenade HummusVegan.
Roasted Garlic HummusVegan.
Roasted Pine Nut HummusVegan.
Roasted Red Pepper HummusVegan.
Spinach & Artichoke HummusVegan.
Supremely Spicy HummusVegan.

Sabra Hummus Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Brown Sugar
  • Chickpeas
  • Citric Acid
  • Cooked Chickpeas
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Dried Lemon Peel
  • Garlic
  • Green Olives
  • Kalamata Olives
  • Lemon Juice
  • Lemon Oil
  • Lime Juice Concentrate
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Non Gmo Citric Acid
  • Nongmo Citric Acid
  • Nongmo Soybean Oil
  • Onion
  • Onion Flakes
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Poppy Seeds
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Red & Green Bell Peppers
  • Salt
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Tahini (Ground Sesame)
  • Tahini (Sesame)
  • Tomato
  • Tomato Powder
  • Water


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient for vegans because there is a situation where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being more so used in the candy and snacks industry.

Raw cane sugar is vegan and so is beet sugar, but the cane sugar is often refined to fit products better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process would make that sugar non-vegan in many vegans eyes.

Natural Flavors

This ingredient is a tricky one for vegans and the reason for that is because natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it often consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it would not show on the ingredients label, making it impossible to know if it’s vegan-friendly or not.


Almost all flavors of Sabra hummus are vegan and the only flavors that I’m not sure about is Greek Inspired Hummus because it’s not marked vegan at their website. All the other flavors is labeled vegan on their website.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts