Is Root Beer Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Root beer is a sweet and refreshing beverage that has become a beloved staple of summertime picnics and cookouts. Its unique flavor, which is often described as a combination of sassafras and wintergreen, has made it an iconic part of American culture. But, is Root Beer vegan?

Most root beer products are considered vegan because they don’t contain ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Root Beer products and its vegan status.

ProductVegan Status
A&W Caffeine-Free, Low Sodium Root BeerVegan
Great Value Root BeerVegan
Barq’s Root Beer SodaVegan
MUG Root Beer SodaVegan

Root Beer Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Calcium Disodium EDTA To Protect Flavor
  • Caramel Color
  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Quillaia Extract
  • Sodium Benzoate Preservative


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavor

The next ingredient that’s problematic in this product is natural flavors. Natural flavors is an umbrella term that means that it contains several ingredients and the source of these ingredients is not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that the natural flavors could contain non-vegan ingredients and it would not show on the ingredients label. Vegans needs to be careful when it comes to natural flavors, because they’re not always vegan-friendly.


Corn is one of the most GMO crop in the US and many vegans tends to stay away from GMO’s. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is being used, which can can cause severe damage to the surrounding environment.


It’s great for vegans that most root are considered vegan-friendly. There are many brands to choose from and most of the use the same ingredients. Always make sure to read the ingredients label because companies can change their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts