Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Premier Protein Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Premier Protein is a nutritional supplement that provides high-quality protein to help support muscle growth, maintenance, and recovery. It is a convenient and affordable way to get the protein your body needs, and it comes in a variety of delicious flavors. But is Premier Protein vegan?

No flavors of Premier Protein are vegan because they contain milk.

Below is a table showing the different types Premier Protein and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Protein ShakesNo, contains Milk.
Protein Shakes With OatsNo, contains Milk.
Clear Protein DrinksNo, contains Milk.
Protein PowdersNo, contains Milk.

Premier Protein Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Biotin
  • Blue 1
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Calcium D-Pantothenate
  • Carrageenan
  • Cellulose Gel And Cellulose Gum
  • Cholecalciferol [Vitamin D3]
  • Chromium Polynicotinate
  • Copper Gluconate
  • Cyanocobalamin [Vitamin B12]
  • Dipotassium Phosphate
  • Ferric Orthophosphate
  • Filtered Water
  • Folic Acid
  • Inulin
  • Magnesium Phosphate
  • Manganese Sulfate
  • Milk Protein Concentrate
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Niacinamide
  • Oats
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Phytonadione [Vitamin K1]
  • Potassium Iodide
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride [Vitamin B6]
  • Red 40
  • Riboflavin [Vitamin B2]
  • Salt
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  • Sodium Molybdate
  • Sodium Selenite
  • Soluble Corn Fiber
  • Sucralose
  • Thiamine Mononitrate [Vitamin B1]
  • Tripotassium Phosphate
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin And Mineral Blend (Dl-alpha-tocopheryl Acetate [vitamin E]
  • Water
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Zinc Glycinate Chelate

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

The whey protein is made from milk making this ingredient non-vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

This ingredient is a very controversial ingredient within the vegan community and reason for this is the animal testing that been done and probably still are being conducted. Ethical vegans tends to stay away from products that contains artificial colors while some dietary vegans choose to consume them.

There are other testing methods such as computer simulations that can do a great job, but the animal testing is still going on in the world. There are also some health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in kids.

Natural And Artificial Flavors

Natural flavors is a tricky ingredient for vegans because they can consist of many ingredients and the source of these ingredient is rarely disclosed. If it contains milk that is however disclosed most of the time. This causes some issues for vegans and the only way to be sure that the natural flavors is vegan is if the product has a vegan label or if you contact the company and ask.

Vitamin B12 & D3

These ingredients can be made from animal-sourced ingredients or plant-based ingredients.

Vegan Alternative To Premier Protein

I found a great alternative called Orgain Organic Protein.

Conclusion

I could not find a vegan flavor of Premier protein, however many supplement companies are adding vegan protein sources to their product line, giving vegans more choices.

Some common vegan protein sources are soy and pea.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts