Is Prego Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Prego Sauce is a well-known Italian-style tomato sauce that has been used for decades to enhance the flavor of many dishes. It is one of the most popular sauces used in today’s cuisine and has become an essential ingredient for pasta, pizza, and other Italian favorites. But, is Prego vegan?

Many flavors of Prego Italian sauces are vegan such as Bold and Spicy Pizza Sauce, Chunky Tomato with Garlic and Onion Pasta Sauce, Fresh Mushroom Pasta Sauce and Hidden Super Veggies Traditional Pasta Sauce just to name a few.

Below is a table showing Prego Italian Sauce flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Basil Pesto SauceNo, contains Milk.
Bold and Spicy Pizza SauceVegan.
Chunky Tomato with Garlic and Onion Pasta SauceVegan.
Creamy Vodka SauceNo, contains Milk.
Cremini Pomodoro With Roasted Garlic Pasta SauceVegan.
Four Cheese Alfredo SauceNo, contains Milk.
Fresh Mushroom Pasta SauceVegan.
Hidden Super Veggies Traditional Pasta SauceVegan.
Homestyle Alfredo SauceNo, contains Milk.
Italian Tomato Sauce Flavored With MeatNo, contains Beef.
Italian Sausage and Garlic Meat SauceVegan.
Traditional Lower Sodium Pasta SauceVegan.
Marinara SauceVegan.
Mini-Meatball Pasta SauceNo, contains Meat.
Chunky Mushroom and Green Pepper Pasta SauceVegan.
Pizzeria Style Pizza SauceVegan.
Roasted Garlic & Herb Italian SauceVegan.
Alfredo Sauce with Roasted Garlic and Parmesan CheeseNo, contains Milk.
Roasted Garlic Parmesan Italian SauceNo, contains Milk.
Roasted Garlic SauceVegan.
Traditional Sensitive Recipe Low FODMAP Pasta SauceVegan.
Three Cheese Pasta SauceNo, contains Milk.
Tomato Basil Garlic Italian SauceVegan.
Chunky Garden Combo Pasta SauceVegan.
Plant Protein Traditional Pasta SauceVegan.
Creamy Tomato Basil Italian SauceNo, contains Milk.
Spicy Marinara SauceVegan.
Sweet Sausage and Roasted Peppers Pasta SauceNo, contains Pork.
Traditional No Sugar Added Pasta SauceVegan.
Classic Marinara SauceVegan.
Traditional Pasta SauceVegan.

Prego Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Anhydrous Milkfat
  • Basil
  • Bay Leaves
  • Beef
  • Beef Extract
  • Beef Fat
  • Beef Flavor
  • Black Pepper
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Butter
  • Butternut Squash
  • Canola Oil
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Citric Acid
  • Cream (Milk)
  • Corn Oil
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Cremini Mushrooms
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Cultures
  • Dextrose
  • Diced Tomatoes In Tomato Juice
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Dried Beef Stock
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Onions
  • Dried Roasted Garlic
  • Enzyme Modified Cheese Paste
  • Enzyme Modified Egg Yolks
  • Enzymes
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Folic Acid
  • Garlic
  • Garlic Extract
  • Granular Cheese
  • Green Peppers
  • Hydrolyzed Pea Protein
  • Lactic Acid
  • Meatballs
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Natural Flavoring
  • Olive Oil
  • Omato Puree (Water
  • Onion Extract
  • Oregano
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Pea Protein Isolate
  • Riboflavin
  • Ricotta Cheese
  • Roasted Red Pepper
  • Romano Cheese
  • Rosemary Extract
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Skim Milk
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Soy Protein Concentrate
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Spinach
  • Sugar
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Tomato Paste
  • Tomato Puree
  • Vegetable Puree
  • Vodka
  • Water
  • Whey
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Yeast
  • Yeast Extract
  • Zucchini


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


There are many meat ingredients such as pork and beef that can be found in some of the flavors. These ingredients are not vegan-friendly.

Milk & Egg

Since milk and eggs comes from animals, they are not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community. One of the most popular sugar used in candy and sweets is cane sugar and in it’s raw form it’s always vegan-friendly. However, it’s often refined in order to fit the product better and in the refining process the sugar is often bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting animals in the production process is not okay for vegans. The source of the sugar is rarely disclosed and information about the bleaching process can be hard to come by. If you are concerned then you should contact the company.

Natural Flavoring

Natural flavoring is an umbrella term, meaning that it often consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that natural flavoring could contain ingredients sourced from animals and It would not show on the ingredients label.

Corn & Soy

Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and a problem with this is the high amount of herbicide needed in order for the crops to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it beyond repair.

Lactic Acid

This ingredient can be sourced from both plants and animals.


It’s amazing that so many Prego Italian Sauces are vegan-friendly. Many brands tends to be vegan-friendly, but sometimes meat or milk is added making several flavors unsuitable for vegans.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts