Is Planet Oat Milk Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Planet Oat Milk has become one of the most popular dairy-free milk alternatives in recent years. As more and more people look to reduce their consumption of animal products, Planet Oat Milk is an excellent option for those looking for a delicious and nutritious milk replacement. But, is Planet Oat Milk vegan?

All flavors of Planet Oat milk are vegan because they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Planet Oat Milk flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Planet Original OatmilkVegan.
Planet Vanilla OatmilkVegan.
Planet Dark Chocolate OatmilkVegan.
Planet Unsweetened Original OatmilkVegan.
Planet Unsweetened Vanilla OatmilkVegan.
Planet Extra Creamy OatmilkVegan.
Planet Shelf-Stable Original OatmilkVegan.
Planet Shelf-Stable Vanilla OatmilkVegan.
Planet Shelf-Stable Extra Creamy OatmilkVegan.

Planet Oat Milk Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cocoa Processed With Alkali
  • Dipotassium Phosphate
  • Gellan Gum
  • Guar Gum
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Vanilla Flavor
  • Oatmilk
  • Oats
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Sea Salt
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin D2
  • Vitamin B12


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Sugar can be a difficult ingredient for vegans because of the risk of bone char from dead cows being used in the production process. Both raw cane sugar and beet sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar is refined it has the risk of being bleached with bone char.

Cane sugar is often refined to fit the product better, so it’s a very common procedure and since refined cane sugar is so popular, it’s a high risk that the sugar is actually non-vegan. The bleaching method is rarely disclosed and the best way is to contact the company and ask.

Natural Flavors

This is an ingredient that is very common in many food products, because it’s a way for the company to hide their ingredients without having to disclose them anywhere else. But the problem is that natural flavors often consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

So natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it would not be shown on the ingredients label. The best way to know for sure is to contact the company and ask.

Vitamin A Palmitate

This ingredient can be sourced from both plants and animals.


Planet Oat Milk is an amazing vegan alternative for cow’s milk. Whether you are a vegan or lactose intolerant, Planet Oat Milk could be a good alternative. Always check the ingredients label because companies can update their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts