Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Pirate’s Booty Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are taking a look at Pirate’s Booty snacks, they come in three different flavors, cheddar blast, aged white cheddar and smart puffs. They are mostly made with puffed rice and corn, however are Pirate’s Booty vegan?

No flavors of Pirate’s Booty is vegan because they all contain milk.

Below is a table showing Pirate’s Booty flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Pirate’s Booty Cheddar BlastNo, contains Milk.
Pirate’s Booty Aged White CheddarNo, contains Milk.
Pirate’s Booty Smart Puffs Cosmic White CheddarNo, contains Milk.

Pirate’s Booty Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Buttermilk
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Citric Acid and Lactic Acid (for flavor)
  • Corn Meal
  • Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • Enzymes
  • Lactic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Organic Black Pepper
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Whey

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made with milk such as whey, buttermilk and cheddar cheese. These ingredients are not vegan since the milk come from cows.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavor

This is a hard ingredient for vegans because natural flavors often consist of many ingredients, but you only see natural flavors on the ingredients label. Since the source is rarely disclosed, vegans can’t know if the ingredients are animal-sourced or not.

There is an interesting article on National Geographic where they disclosed that butt goo from beavers could be used in vanilla flavors. With that in mind, vegans should be cautious when it comes to different flavorings in products.

Enzymes

This ingredient can be made from animal sourced ingredients or plant-based ingredients.

Corn

Corn is a common GMO crop in USA and it’s worth to mention that because of the high amount of herbicide that is needed to grow these. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause some severe damage.

Many vegans tends to look for the non GMO project label to avoid GMO’s.

Vegan Alternative To Pirate’s Booty

I found a great vegan alternative called Beyond Puffs.

Conclusion

Milk being a common in ingredient in all three flavors of Pirate’s Booty makes all of them non-vegan. However I did find a great vegan alternative, which I hope you will enjoy.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts