Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Pillsbury Frosting is a delicious and easy way to top off any dessert. From cupcakes to cookies, adding a layer of this creamy frosting can make all the difference. Not only does it taste amazing, but it’s also incredibly easy to use. But, is Pillsbury Frosting vegan?
All flavors of Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Frosting are vegan because they don’t contain ingredients sourced from animals.
Below is a table showing Pillsbury Frosting flavors and its vegan status.
|Creamy Supreme Buttercream Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Chocolate Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Chocolate Fudge Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Coconut Pecan Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Cream Cheese Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Milk Chocolate Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Strawberry Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Vanilla Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme White Frosting||Vegan.|
|Creamy Supreme Salted Caramel Flavored Frosting||Vegan.|
|Fluffy Frost Funfetti Vanilla Marshmallow Frosting||Maybe, Mono & Diglycerides, Natural Flavors and Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate.|
|Funfetti Aqua Blue Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Bold Purple Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Confetti Funfetti Chocolate Fudge Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Confetti Funfetti Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Hot Pink Vanilla Frosting||Maybe, Mono & Diglycerides, Natural Flavors and Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate.|
|Funfetti Radiant Red Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Vanilla Frosting||Maybe, Mono & Diglycerides, Natural Flavors and Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate.|
|Funfetti Vibrant Green Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Galaxy Space Blue Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Unicorn Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Llama Vanilla Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Mermaid Strawberry Frosting||No, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.|
|Funfetti Vanilla Frosting With Oreo Cookie Pieces||Maybe, Mono & Diglycerides, Natural Flavors and Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate.|
Pillsbury Frosting Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Blue 1
- Blue 1 Lake
- Blue 2
- Canola Oil
- Cellulose Gum
- Chamomile And Rosemary Extracts)
- Citric Acid
- Cocoa Processed With Alkali
- Confectioner’s Glaze
- Corn Starch
- Corn Syrup
- Mixed Tocopherols
- Modified Corn Starch
- Mono And Diglycerides
- Natural And Artificial Flavors
- Palm Oil
- Polysorbate 60
- Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
- Red 3
- Red 40
- Rice Flour
- Soy Lecithin
- Xanthan Gum
- Yellow 5
- Yellow 6
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
This ingredient is not vegan-friendly since it’s made from bugs.
There are many artificial colors that can be found in candy and sweets and it’s a highly debated ingredient within the vegan community. These colors are know for being tested on animals and a lot of vegans tends to stay away for that reason.
There are other testing methods such as computer simulations that can do a great job instead. There are also several health issues connected to these colors such as hyperactivity in kids.
Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans and the reason for this is the possibility of bone char being used in the production process. This risk only applies for refined cane sugar, which means that beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always vegan.
However before cane sugar is used it’s often refined to fit the product better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism.
Natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it can contain several ingredients without the source of these ingredients being disclosed on the ingredients label. This means that the ingredients could be animal-sourced and that’s why we need to be careful when it comes to natural flavors.
Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient. Not only by vegans, but by people in the entire world. The palm oil itself is indeed vegan, because it does not contain any animal derived ingredient.
The problem is the fact massive deforestation is taking place, to make room for palm oil plantations and this forces wildlife to suffer. Orangutans and rhinos are some of the animals that are forced from their homes.
However there is something called Roundtable For Sustainable Palm Oil or in short RSPO. This is an non-profit organisation that helps companies buy and produce sustainable palm oil with minimum impact on the environment. This would make the palm oil vegan-friendly.
Mono And Diglycerides
This ingredient could be derived from animals.
Corn is one of the most common GMO crops in the US and for vegans this can be a problem. The reason is the fact that GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide in order for it to grow and this can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.
It’s great that all creamy supreme flavors are vegan-friendly, but a lot of flavors still contain many questionable ingredients such palm oil, natural flavors, mono & diglycerides and artificial colors. They would not be perfect for vegans, but they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals.
Thanks for reading, take care!