Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn is one of the most popular brands of popcorn in the world. Whether you are having a movie night or a party, Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn will be the perfect snack. But, is Orville Redenbacher popcorn vegan?

Several flavors of Orville Redenbacher popcorn are vegan such as Kettle Corn, Mini Size Kettle Smartpop! Popcorn, Smartpop! Kettle Corn, Naturals – Simply Salted and Avocado Oil Popcorn just to name a few.

Below is a table showing Orville Redenbacher Popcorn flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Movie Theater ButterNo, contains Milk.
Ultimate ButterNo, contains Milk.
ButterNo, contains Milk.
Light ButterNo, contains Milk.
Tender WhiteNo, contains Milk.
Kettle CornVegan.
Mini Size Kettle Smartpop! PopcornVegan.
Mini Size Smartpop! Butter PopcornNo, contains Milk.
Smartpop! Kettle CornVegan.
Smartpop! ButterNo, contains Milk.
Naturals Light – Simply SaltedVegan.
Naturals Light – Classic Butter & Sea SaltNo, contains Milk.
Naturals – Simply SaltedVegan.
Avocado Oil PopcornVegan. Mono-
Avocado Oil Popcorn Mini BagVegan. Mono-

Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Whole Grain Popping Corn
  • Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Butter
  • Color Added (Annatto, Turmeric, Paprika)
  • Natural Flavor (Milk)
  • Mixed Tocopherols (Vitamin E for Freshness).
  • Avocado Oil
  • Mono- and Diglycerides

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Natural Flavor (Milk)

Natural flavors is always a questionable ingredient because it often consists of several ingredients. The source of these ingredients are almost never disclosed unless it’s a common allergy. In this case the natural flavor sometimes contains milk making this ingredient non-vegan.

For the Orville Redenbacher Popcorn flavors shows on the ingredients label if it contains milk, but most of the time the source is never disclosed, making this ingredient tricky for vegans.

Questionable Ingredients

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient, not only for vegans but for many people around the world. The reason for this is the vast deforestation that is taking place to make room for palm plantations. This also has a very negative impact on the wildlife that is being forced away from their homes.

This exploit of animals does not align with veganism and many vegans are staying away from palm oil because of this. However, there is a way to make the palm oil more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil.

Mono- and Diglycerides

Can be made from both animals and plants.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that several flavors of Orville Redenbacher Popcorn are vegan, because it’s one of my favorite popcorn brands. A common ingredient in many popcorn brands is butter and since it’s often made from milk, many flavors therefore becomes non-vegan.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts