Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Mrs. Butterworth is a popular brand of pancake syrup that has been around since 1961. The syrup is known for its unique shape and Mrs. Butterworth’s image on the bottle. However, is Mrs. Butterworth Syrup vegan?

Mrs. Butterworth Syrup might be vegan, but all flavors contains natural flavors and Mono and Diglycerides, which could be made with ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Mrs. Butterworth Syrup flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Mrs. Butterworth Syrup OriginalMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Mono and Diglycerides.
Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Extra ButteryMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Mono and Diglycerides.
Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Sugar FreeMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Mono and Diglycerides.
Mrs. Butterworth Syrup LiteMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Mono and Diglycerides.
Mrs. Butterworth Fruity Pebbles Flavored Pancake SyrupMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Mono and Diglycerides.

Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Aspartame
  • Cane Syrup
  • Caramel Color
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Lactic Acid
  • Molasses
  • Mono And Diglycerides
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Neotame
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Red 40
  • Salt
  • Sodium Benzoate And Potassium Sorbate (Preservatives)
  • Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  • Sorbic Acid And Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives)
  • Water

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Syrup

Cane sugar is something that many vegans are careful to eat, because there is an situation where this ingredient could be called non-vegan. Cane sugar is often refined before used in products and in this process it’s also bleached.

A common method of bleaching cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows and this would make the sugar non-vegan according to many vegans. Exploiting animals in the production process does not align well with veganism.

Mono And Diglycerides

This ingredient could be sourced from both animals and plants.

Natural And Artificial Flavor

The problem with this ingredient is the fact that it can consist of several ingredients and source is not disclosed on the ingredients label. This means that ingredients derived from animals could be hidden here, making this ingredient very questionable for vegans.

Artificial Colors

This highly controversial ingredient has turned many vegans away from products. The issue is that artificial colors has been tested on animals and it might still be going on. There are also several health issues connected to these colors and one of them is hyper activity in kids.

Corn

Corn is one of the most common GMO crops in USA and the problem is the high amount of herbicide needed to grow these. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding environment and create severe damage. This has led to vegans looking for products that has the label non GMO project.

Vegan Alternative To Mrs. Butterworth Syrup

I found a great vegan alternative called Pyure Organic Maple Flavored Syrup.

Conclusion

It’s hard to say if Mrs. Butterworth Syrup is vegan because of some of the questionable ingredients that can be found. I managed to find a vegan-friendly on Amazon can you can check try if you want to be 100% that the syrup you eat is vegan.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts