Is Lurpak Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Lurpak is a well known butter brand, produced by the Danish dairy company Arla Foods. It has been around for over a century and is renowned for its premium quality and great taste. Today, Lurpak products can be found in many countries across the world and are used in both households and professional kitchens. But, is Lurpak vegan?

No, Lurpak is not vegan because all flavors contains milk.

Below is a table showing Lurpak flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Lurpak Slightly Salted ButterNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Unsalted ButterNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak With Crushed GarlicNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Spreadable Slightly SaltedNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Lighter Spreadable Slightly SaltedNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Lighter Spreadable With Olive OilNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Roasting SprayNo, contains Milk.
Lurpak Frying LiquidNo, contains Milk.

Lurpak Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Butter [Milk]
  • Canola Oil
  • Garlic
  • Lactic Culture [Milk]
  • Nitrogen
  • Olive Oil
  • Pepper Extract
  • Salt
  • Vegetable Oil


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since milk comes from cows, it’s not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients

Vegetable Oil

It does not say which vegetable oil used in some flavors and that is why we need to talk about palm oil. Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient. It has made the news and a lot of people are upset about the deforestation taking place. Companies are cutting down rain forest in order to make room for palm oil plantation, which is devastating for the ecosystem.

There’s a way to make palm oil more vegan-friendly and that is called RSPO. This is an non-profit organization that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimal impact on the environment.


Is Lurpak Vegetarian?

All flavors of Lurpark are suitable for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegan Status
Lurpak Slightly Salted ButterLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Unsalted ButterLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak With Crushed GarlicLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Spreadable Slightly SaltedLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Lighter Spreadable Slightly SaltedLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Lighter Spreadable With Olive OilLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Roasting SprayLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Lurpak Frying LiquidLacto-Ovo & Lacto.


Milk is a common ingredient that is used by a lot of butter brands and for Lupark it’s no different. All flavors contains milk, but luckily for vegans, there are many brands that only vegetable oil in both butter and margarine.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts