Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Log Cabin Syrup Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Log Cabin syrup is a type of pancake syrup that is made from sugar, corn syrup, and water. It is named after the log cabin in which it was first made. But, is Log Cabin syrup vegan?

All Flavors of Log Cabin Syrup are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Log Cabin Syrup flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Log Cabin Original SyrupVegan.
Log Cabin Lite SyrupVegan.
Log Cabin Sugar Free SyrupDietary Vegan.
Log Cabin All Natural SyrupVegan.

Log Cabin Syrup Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Aspartame
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Brown Sugar
  • Cane Sugar
  • Caramel Color
  • Citric Acid
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Corn Syrup
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor (Caramel Color)
  • Neotame
  • Phenylalanine
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Sorbic Acid
  • Salt
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  • Sorbitol
  • Sugar
  • Water

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Aspartame

Aspartame is a known ingredient for being tested on animals in the past and many ethical vegans are staying away from this ingredient because of that. Many dietary vegan still consume this ingredient because they are mainly eating a plant-based diet for health reasons.

Sugar

The second questionable ingredient is sugar and the reason for that is bone char. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, the latter being more popular in candy and sweets. Beet sugar is always vegan-friendly and so is raw cane sugar.

But if the cane sugar gets refined, it could become non-vegan. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process would disqualify the product as vegan.

Natural & Artificial Flavor

The natural flavor is quite a tricky ingredient for vegans, because it’s one of the few ways for companies to keep ingredients for their recipes hidden from the public. Natural flavor often consists of several ingredients and the problem is that the source of these ingredients is not disclosed on the ingredients label.

Meaning that ingredients sourced from animals is a possibility in natural flavors, making it a very uncertain ingredient for vegans. Very often this ingredient is vegan-friendly, but we can’t always be sure.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that all flavors of Log Cabin syrup are suitable for vegans. It does contain a lot of sugar, which wouldn’t making it the healthiest option, but it sure does taste amazing and it the perfect addition to pancakes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

More Syrup Reviews

Is Mrs. Butterworth Syrup Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed

Recent Posts