Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Knorr Spanish Rice Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Knorr Spanish Rice is a dish that is simple to make and can be a great addition to any meal. Knorr Spanish Rice is a versatile dish that can be served as a side or as a main course, and it is sure to please everyone at the table. But, is Knorr Spanish Rice vegan?

Knorr Spanish Rice maybe vegan, but it contains natural flavors and disodium inosinate, which could be made from ingredients derived from animals.

In this article we will analyze the ingredients in Knorr Spanish Rice.

Knorr Spanish Rice Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Citric Acid
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Durum Flour
  • Ferrous Sulfate (iron)
  • Ferric Orthophosphate (iron)
  • Folic Acid.
  • Garlic Powder
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Maltodextrin (corn)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Niacin
  • Olive Oil
  • Paprika (for Color)
  • Parboiled Long Grain Rice
  • Potassium Salt
  • Red Bell Peppers
  • Riboflavin (vitamin B2)
  • Salt
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Thiamine Mononitrate (vitamin B1)
  • Tomato Powder
  • Vermicelli
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar can be an ingredient that some vegan stay away from and reason for it is the possibility of bone char being used in the production process. For the most part sugar is vegan-friendly, but when cane sugar gets refined, a very common method of bleaching it is to use bone char from dead cows.

There is no way of knowing if the sugar in a product has been bleached this way and many times the source of sugar might not even be disclosed on ingredients label. So just to be sure, some vegans stay away from sugar, however this entirely up to you and your vegan lifestyle.

Natural Flavors

When it comes to natural flavors it’s near impossible to know if it’s vegan-friendly or not because it can consist of several ingredients, which is not disclosed on the ingredients label. It could very well contain animal-sourced ingredients, making this ingredient a very questionable one for vegans.

Disodium Guanylate & Disodium Inosinate

These ingredients can be made from ingredients derived from both animals and plants.

Conclusion

The natural flavors is somewhat of a tricky ingredient for vegans and the word natural does not involve the ingredient being plant-based, but rather that the flavors are not artificial. The best way to be sure is to contact the company and ask about the questionable ingredients.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts