Is Kashi Cereal Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Kashi is a cereal company that produces breakfast cereals, snacks, and other food products. They are healthy, sustainable and delicious, but are Kashi cereal vegan?

Almost all flavors of Kashi cereals are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals. The flavors that are not vegan contains honey.

Below is a table showing Kashi Cereal flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Kashi GO Cereal Dark CocoaVegan.
Kashi GO Cereal Cinnamon VanillaVegan.
Kashi GO Toasted Berry CrispVegan.
Kashi GO Chocolate CrunchVegan.
Kashi GO Peanut Butter CrunchVegan.
Kashi GO Cinnamon CrispVegan.
Kashi GO Honey Almond Flax CrunchNo, contains Honey.
Kashi GO OriginalNo, contains Honey.
Kashi GO CrunchNo, contains Honey.
Kashi GO Coconut Almond CrunchVegan.
Kashi Organic Blueberry Clusters CerealVegan.
Kashi Organic Strawberry Fields CerealVegan.
Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Autumn WheatVegan.
Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Berry FruitfulVegan.
Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Island VanillaVegan.
Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits, Cinnamon HarvestVegan.
Kashi Simply Raisin Whole Wheat BiscuitVegan.
Kashi Maple Waffle BitesVegan.
Kashi Organic Honey Toasted Oat CerealNo, contains Honey.
Kashi Organic Warm Cinnamon Oat CerealNo, contains Honey.

Kashi Cereal Vegan Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acacia Gum
  • Allulose
  • Baking Soda
  • Barley
  • Brown Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Cane Sugar
  • Canola Oil
  • Chickpea Flour
  • Chicory Root Fiber
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Extract
  • Cinnamon
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour
  • Dried Blueberries
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • Guar Gum
  • Hard Red Wheat
  • Honey
  • Lentil Protein
  • Mixed Tocopherols (Vitamin E) For Freshness
  • Molasses
  • Monk Fruit Extract
  • Natural Flavors
  • Oat Fiber
  • Pea Protein
  • Peanut Butter (Peanuts)
  • Peanut Oil
  • Puffed Whole Grain Blend
  • Rosemary Extract For Freshness
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Semisweet Chocolate
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Soy Flakes
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soy Protein Concentrate
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Triticale
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Vegetable Glycerin
  • Wheat Sticks (Whole Wheat Flour
  • Whole Grain Oats


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Honey is not a vegan-friendly since it’s made by bees and vegans don’t consume anything from the realm of insects either.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Cane sugar is a very controversial ingredient within the vegan community because of the possibility of bone char being used in the production process. Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but the cane sugar is often refined before used in a product.

In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and the problem here is that the most common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows. This does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavors

The next ingredient on our questionable ingredients list is natural flavors. Natural flavors is often a mix of several ingredients and the problem that this causes for vegan is the fact that the source of these ingredients are never disclosed on the ingredients label.

So they could be animal-sourced and just by reading the ingredient would not disclose this. So vegans needs to be careful when it comes to natural flavors and unless the product is labeled vegan then it would be safe for vegans to consume.


Absolutely amazing that so many flavors of Kashi cereals are vegan-friendly. With the vegan movement on the rise so is the number of vegan-friendly products hitting the market, making our lives easier with tasty and healthy foods.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts