Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Jumex Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Jumex is a delicious and refreshing drink made from a variety of fruits. It is perfect for any occasion and can be enjoyed by many. But is Jumex vegan?

Several flavors of Jumex are vegan such as Pineapple Nectar, Pear Nectar, Pineapple-Papaya Nectar and Apple Nectar. They are vegan since they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Jumex flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Jumex Pineapple NectarVegan.
Jumex Pear NectarVegan.
Jumex Pineapple-Papaya NectarVegan.
Jumex Apple NectarVegan.
Jumex Mango NectarVegan.
Jumex Guava NectarVegan.
Jumex Peach NectarVegan.
Jumex Pineapple-Coconut NectarVegan.
Jumex Guanabana NectarMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Jumex Strawberry-Banana NectarNo, contains Carmine Color.
Jumex Strawberry NectarNo, contains Carmine Color.
Jumex Apricot NectarNo, contains Carmine Color.

Jumex Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Apple Puree From Concentrate
  • Apricot Puree From Concentrate
  • Ascorbic Acid (Preservative)
  • Beta Carotene (Color)
  • Carmine (Color)
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Citric Acid
  • Coconut Cream
  • Erythorbic Acid (Preservative)
  • Guanabana Puree from Concentrate
  • Guar Gum
  • Guava Puree From Concentrate
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Malic Acid And Sucralose
  • Mango Puree From Concentrate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Peach Puree From Concentrate
  • Pear Puree from Concentrate
  • Pineapple Juice from Concentrate
  • Pineapple Puree from Concentrate
  • Pineapple and Papaya Puree from Concentrate
  • Sodium Carboxymethylcellulose
  • Strawberry Puree From Concentrate
  • Strawberry Puree From Concentrate And Banana Puree
  • Sucralose
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Xanthan Gum

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Carmine

Carmine is made from insects and is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a very common ingredient in the candy and sweets industry. Most sugar types are vegan, but when it comes to cane sugar, it might not always be vegan-friendly. The cane sugar often needs to be refined to fit the products and in this process the sugar is also bleached.

A common way to bleach cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows and this does not align with veganism. The problem with sugar is also that the source is rarely disclosed and even so, there is no way of knowing if it’s been bleached with bone char.

Natural Flavor

This ingredient is very questionable for vegans, because it can consist of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label. So it could potentially contain ingredients sourced from animals and vegans needs to be careful when consuming natural flavors.

Conclusion

It’s great that 8 flavors of Jumex are vegan when analyzing the ingredients. Many vegans are concerned about consuming sugar, because of the possibility of it being bleached with bone char. Every vegan has their own journey and decides what they want and don’t want to eat, the only common thing among all vegans is the plant-based diet. Which will reduce a lot of animal-suffering and contribute to a better environment for the planet.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts