Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Jiffy Pop Vegan 2022? All Ingredients Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Jiffy Pop is a convenient and easy way to make popcorn. All you need is a pan, some oil and the Jiffy Pop popcorn kernels. Just follow the instructions on the back of the Jiffy Pop package and you’ll have fresh, hot popcorn in no time. But is Jiffy Pop vegan?

Jiffy Pop Butter Popcorn is not vegan because it contains milk.

Below is a table showing Jiffy Pop flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Jiffy Pop Butter PopcornNo, contains Milk.

Jiffy Pop Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Popping Corn
  • Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Color Added (Annatto)
  • Natural Flavor (Including Milk)
  • TBHQ and Citric Acid (For Freshness)

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Natural Flavor

The natural flavor used in Jiffy Pop contains milk and is not vegan-friendly. Natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that several ingredients can be placed here and unless it’s disclosed, there is no way of knowing the source of these ingredients.

They can be sourced from animals and plants. In this case the milk is disclosed because of allergic reasons and if other ingredient would be sourced from animals, it would not be disclosed on the ingredients label.

There is a story on National Geographic where they found out that some vanilla flavors uses butt goo from beavers, this means that vegan needs to careful when it comes to different flavorings.

Questionable Ingredients

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient and with good reason. The problem with palm oil is the severe deforestation taking place to make room for the palm oil production. This cause wild animals such as orangutans to leave their natural habitat and this exploitation does not align with veganism.

There is not only vegans that stay away from palm oil, but also many other people that are learning the truth about the palm oil production. The reason this industry is so lucrative is that this vegetable oil is the mostly profitable per square meter and this attracts many businesses.

Palm oil can be sustainably produced and it can be done with help of RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation where companies can certify their palm oil as sustainable. This would make the palm oil more vegan-friendly.

Conagra Brands, Inc is a RSPO member, which means that the palm oil in Jiffy Pop is vegan-friendly.

Vegan Alternative To Jiffy Pop

I found an amazing vegan alternative called SkinnyPop Popcorn.

Conclusion

It’s unfortunate that Jiffy Pop is not vegan, because they are so delicious. Many popcorn flavors in general do contain ingredients such as butter and that is not vegan-friendly, which is the case for Jiffy Pop.

It’s not easy knowing if a product is vegan because some ingredients can have hidden non-vegan ingredients and this is why I’m doing research on product help you find vegan products.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts