Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Jif Peanut Butter is one of the most beloved products in America. For generations, it has been a favorite in many American households, providing delicious and nutritious snacks that kids and adults alike love. Jif Peanut Butter is known for its smooth and creamy texture. But, is Jif Peanut Butter vegan?
Jif Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread and Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter Spread are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals. Many of the other flavors contains Mono And Diglycerides, which could be sourced from animal fat.
Below is a table showing Jif Peanut Butter flavors and its vegan status.
|Creamy Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Squeeze Creamy Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Natural Squeeze Creamy Peanut Butter Spread Contains 90% Peanuts||Vegan.|
|Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread Contains 90% Peanuts||Vegan.|
|Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread And Honey – Contains 80% Peanuts||No, contains Honey.|
|Reduced Fat Creamy Peanut Butter Spread 60% Peanuts||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Simply Jif Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Jif To Go Creamy Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Jif To Go Natural Creamy Peanut Butter Spread 90% Peanuts||Vegan.|
|No Added Sugar Creamy Peanut Butter Spread||Vegan.|
|Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
|Natural Crunchy Peanut Butter Spread – Contains 90% Peanuts||Vegan.|
|Jif To Go Crunchy Peanut Butter||Maybe, contains Mono And Diglycerides.|
Jif Peanut Butter Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Copper Sulfate
- Corn Syrup Solids
- Ferric Orthophosphate
- Folic Acid
- Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed And Soybean)
- Magnesium Oxide
- Mono And Diglycerides
- Palm Oil
- Pea Protein
- Peanut Butter Spread (Peanuts
- Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
- Zinc Oxide
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
When eating a vegan diet, anything that comes from insects is not an option and this includes honey.
Sugar is one of the most common ingredients in the candy and sweets industry and this could be a problem for vegans. The most common sugar types used are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being more popular.
Beet sugar is always vegan and so is raw cane sugar, but the cane sugar is often refined to fit the products and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process would make the product non-vegan.
Palm oil may be a very controversial ingredient for vegan, but it’s the production of the palm oil that is a problem for many vegans. A severe deforestation is taking place in order to make room for the plantations and this is forcing the wildlife away from their natural habitat.
Because of this many vegans are staying away from palm oil, but there is a way to make the palm oil more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organization that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil with less impact on the environment.
Mono And Diglycerides
This ingredient can be sourced from animal fat or plants making it a very questionable ingredient.
It’s amazing that so many flavors of Jif peanut butter are vegan and many more might also be vegan but they contain mono & diglycerides, which could be sourced from animals. A lot of peanut butter brands are in general vegan, which is great for vegans.
Thanks for reading, take care!