Is Island Way Sorbet Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Island Way Sorbet is a delicious and refreshing way to enjoy a summer day. The sorbet is made with fresh fruits and juices, and it is perfect for any occasion. With a variety of flavors to choose from, there is sure to be an Island Way Sorbet that you will love. However, is Island Way Sorbet vegan?

No flavors of Island Way Sorbet is vegan because they all contain cow’s milk.

Below is a table showing Island Way Sorbet flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Zesty Lemon No, contains Milk.
Ruby BerryNo, contains Milk.
Mandarin OrangeNo, contains Milk.
Zesty PomegranateNo, contains Milk.
Sweet PineappleNo, contains Milk.
Passionate MangoNo, contains Milk.
Passion OrangeNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate CoconutNo, contains Milk.
Heavenly CoconutNo, contains Milk.
Jammin Caribbean Pina ColadaNo, contains Milk.

Island Way Sorbet Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Apple Juice Concertrate
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Beet Juice Concentrate
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Coconut Milk
  • Cream (Cow’s milk)
  • Glucose Corn Powder
  • Glucose Powder
  • Grapefruit Juice Concen
  • Lemon Juice Concentrate
  • Liquid sugar
  • Natural Flavors
  • Passionfruit Juice Concentrate
  • Pomegranate Juice Concentrate
  • Raspberry Juice Concentrate
  • Salt
  • Skim Milk Powder
  • Strawberry Juice Concentrate
  • Sugar
  • Water


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Skim milk powder and cream is made from cow’s milk making these ingredients non-vegan.

Questionable Ingredients


There are instances of sugar that vegans would say are not vegan. The reason for this is that one type of sugar has the presence of bone char in the production process, which does not align with veganism. It’s one of the most commonly used sugar types in the candy and snacks industry called cane sugar.

The cane sugar in it’s raw form is always vegan, but then it get refined that is a whole other story. The reason companies refines the cane sugar is so it can fit their products better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching process is to use bone char from dead cow’s and exploiting animals in the production process would make the sugar non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors in an umbrella term, which means that companies can add ingredients and only call it natural flavors. For vegans, this raises an issue because there could be ingredients derived from animals as well. The companies rarely discloses this on the ingredients label, but they do however disclose if it contains milk, because of the potential allergy.

Vegan Alternative To Island Way Sorbet

I tried to find some vegan sorbet flavors, but it was hard.

However I would like to recommend Ben & Jerry’s because they now have some vegan flavors you can check out.


Is Island Way Sorbet Vegetarian?

All flavors of Island Way sorbet are suited for vegetarians because they only animal-derived ingredient is milk.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Zesty Lemon Vegetarian.
Ruby BerryVegetarian.
Mandarin OrangeVegetarian.
Zesty PomegranateVegetarian.
Sweet PineappleVegetarian.
Passionate MangoVegetarian.
Passion OrangeVegetarian.
Chocolate CoconutVegetarian.
Heavenly CoconutVegetarian.
Jammin Caribbean Pina ColadaVegetarian.


It’s too bad that non of the Island Way sorbet flavors is vegan. Overall it was hard to find vegan sorbet and hopefully this is something can companies will create more of in the future.

There are however many ice cream brands that also produces vegan flavors. The vegan diet is in an uptrend and many companies want to keep their costumer, no matter which diet they are on.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts