Is Imperial Margarine Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Imperial Margarine is a well-known brand of spreadable margarine that has been around for over 150 years. Over the decades, Imperial Margarine has become one of the most popular margarine brands among consumers due to its unique flavor, creamy texture, and affordability. But, is Imperial Margarine vegan?

Imperial Margarine is not vegan because it contains milk.

Below is a table showing Imperial Margarine flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Imperial MargarineNo, contains Milk.

Imperial Margarine Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Flavor
  • Beta Carotene (Color)
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • Citric Acid
  • Mono And Diglycerides
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Palm Oil
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean Oil
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Water
  • Whey (Milk)


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since milk comes from cows, this ingredient is not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients

Palm Oil

Palm oil is an ingredient that has been getting a lot of attention over the years. The reason behind this is the severe deforestation that is taking place to make room for plantations and this is forcing the wildlife away from their natural habitat.

Why has this happened? It’s because the palm oil industry has been poorly regulated, but there is a solution for this and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organization that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil. This would make the palm oil more vegan-friendly.


This is one of the most common GMO crops in the US and a big problem for vegans is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crops to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause severe damage to the environment.

Mono And Diglycerides

It can be derived from animals and plants.


It’s too bad that Imperial margarine contains milk, making it an non-vegan ingredient. There are making brands that are creating their margarine with milk, but just as many are creating margarine without it. This is good news for vegans and you should not a problem finding a vegan-friendly margarine.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts