Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Ibarra Chocolate Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Ibarra Chocolate is a type of chocolate that is made in the city of Ibarra, Ecuador. It is made with a combination of cacao beans, sugar, and cinnamon. Ibarra Chocolate has a distinct flavor that many people enjoy. However, is Ibarra Chocolate vegan?

Ibarra Chocolate is vegan because it does not contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Ibarra Chocolate flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Chocolate Ibarra tabletsVegan.
Ibarra Finely Ground ChocolateVegan.
Choco ChocoMaybe, contains Vitamin D3.
Ibarra Premium Semi-bitterVegan.

Ibarra Chocolate Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Color
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Cacao Paste
  • Cocoa
  • Cinnamon
  • Folate
  • Iron
  • Lodized Salt
  • Maltodextrin
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sugar
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin D3

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Color

Choco choco contains artificial colors and the problem with these colors is the fact that they have been tested on animals for a long time. It’s unknown if it’s still being tested on animals, but a lot of vegans tends to stay away from artificial colors anyway.

Some dietary vegans still consume artificial colors and it’s ultimately up to you if you want to consume these colors or not. However, there are several health issues connected to to these colors such as hyperactivity in kids.

Sugar

Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because of the possibility of bone char being used in the production process. But it’s not all types sugar that has this risk only refined cane sugar. This means that beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly.

In the candy and snacks industry the cane sugar is often refined before it’s used in a product and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows and this is an issue for many vegans.

Vitamin D3

This ingredient can be derived from plants or animals. If it’s derived from animals it’s mostly from sheep’s wool.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that Chocolate Ibarra is vegan-friendly. It’s not too common that chocolates are vegan because many companies used milk to produce their chocolate products. More and more companies are producing vegan-friendly candy and the future for vegan snacks looks good.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts