Is I Can’t Believe It’s Butter Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

When it comes to butter, it’s hard not to think of the classic jingle that promises “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter!” But what if the real deal is just as delicious? This revolutionary product has been around for many years, providing consumers with a healthier alternative to traditional butter. But, is I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter vegan?

I Can’t Believe It’s Butter has at least one vegan flavor and it’s simply called “vegan”. The other flavors might also be vegan but they all contain ingredients that could be sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing I Can’t Believe It’s Butter flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
OriginalMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
LightMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Original SprayMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Baking SticksMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.

I Can’t Believe It’s Butter Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Beta Carotene (Color)
  • Lecithin (Soy)
  • Mono And Diglycerides
  • Natural Flavors
  • Palm & Palm Kernel Oil
  • Purified Water
  • Salt
  • Soybean Oil
  • Vinegar
  • Vitamin A Palmitate


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors

This is an umbrella term which means that companies can add whatever ingredient they desire inside this ingredient. This makes it hard for vegans to know if the product is vegan-friendly or not. The only ingredient that is ever disclosed on the ingredients label is natural flavors.

They want to keep parts of their recipes ingredients secret, making natural flavors an excellent ingredient to add their unique flavorings into. However if the natural flavor contains milk, then that would be disclosed because of the risk of allergies.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is not only a controversial ingredient for vegans, but for people all around the world. The deforestation issue is a huge problem, forcing orangutans and rhinos from their homes. Palm oil is a vegetable oil that is very widely used today.

A lot of companies are choosing to produce palm oil because it’s the most profitable vegetable oil per square meter.

Nowadays there is a way to make palm oil sustainable, which is called RSPO. This stands for Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil. It helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimum impact on the environment.

Mono & Diglycerides And Vitamin A

These ingredients can be sourced from animals and plants, making it highly questionable.


Soy is an ingredient that many vegans eat today because of the high amount of protein. but a problem is that it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide to grow and this can pollute the surrounding ecosystem.

So many vegans tends to stay way from GMO’s and look for products that has the label non GMO project.


It’s great that I Can’t Believe It’s Butter one or more vegan flavors. When I started my vegan journey, there weren’t too many vegan butter options, but today there are so many brands to choose from and the reason for this is that companies knows that veganism is here to stay.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts