Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Hubba Bubba is a brand of bubble gum known for its iconic flavors and creative marketing. For decades, Hubba Bubba has been the go-to choice for those looking for an enjoyable, long-lasting chewing experience. But, is Hubba Bubba vegan?
Hubba Bubba might be suitable for dietary vegans but they contain natural flavors and aspartame. For ethical vegans Hubba Bubba is not a choice since all flavors contains aspartame and artificial colors.
Below is a table showing Hubba Bubba flavors and its vegan status.
|Flavor||Ethical Vegans||Dietary Vegans|
|Hubba Bubba Valentine’s Day Chewing Gum||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Hubba Bubba Awesome Original Chewing Gum||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Hubba Bubba Tangy Tropical Chewing Gum||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Hubba Bubba Sour Blue Raspberry Chewing Gum||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Hubba Bubba Max Strawberry Watermelon||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Hubba Bubba Gushing Grape||No, contains Artificial Colors and Aspartame.||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
Hubba Bubba Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Acesulfame K
- BHT (To Maintain Freshness)
- Blue 1
- Citric Acid
- Corn Starch
- Corn Syrup
- Gum Base
- Natural And Artificial Flavors
- Red 40 Lake
- Soy Lecithin
- Tartaric Acid
- Yellow 5 & 6
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is in situation where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being the most popular one.
Beet sugar is vegan and so is raw cane sugar, but the cane sugar is often refined to fit the products and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and because of this risk, some vegans tends to stay away from sugar.
Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are never disclosed on the ingredients label. This means that natural flavors can contain ingredients that is derived from animals and vegans would not know this just by reading the ingredients label.
This is another controversial ingredient and the reason is the fact that it’s known to be tested on animals. There are also other testing methods such as computer simulations that can be used instead.
Ethical vegans tends to stay away from this ingredient, while dietary vegans might consume them. There are also health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in kids.
Corn & Soy
Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and the problem with these crops is the high amount of herbicide needed in order for the crops to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it beyond repair.
This ingredient can be sourced from both plants and animals.
Many chewing gums today contains artificial colors and the problem with this is that ethical vegans tends to stay away from these because of the animal testing that has been done. Artificial colors can be found in Hubba Bubba chewing as well so it’s not be suitable for ethical vegans, but rather for dietary vegans, however because of the natural flavors, it’s not certain that they can consume this gum either.
Thanks for reading, take care!