Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Heinz Mustard Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Heinz mustard is a type of yellow mustard that is very popular in the United States. This mustard is a bit spicier than other types of yellow mustard and has a very strong flavor. It is often used as a condiment on hot dogs and hamburgers. But, is Heinz Mustard vegan?

Heinz 100% Natural Spicy Brown Mustard and Organic Yellow Mustard are both vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Heinz Mustard flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Heinz 100% Natural Spicy Brown MustardVegan.
Heinz 100% Natural Yellow MustardMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Heinz 100% Natural Honey Mustard with Real HoneyNo, contains Honey.
Heinz Organic Yellow MustardVegan.

Heinz Mustard Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Cane Sugar
  • Dark Brown Sugar
  • Distilled White Vinegar
  • Garlic Powder
  • Honey
  • Molasses
  • Mustard Flour
  • Mustard Seed
  • Natural Flavor And Spices
  • Onion Powder
  • Organic Distilled Vinegar
  • Organic Mustard Seed
  • Organic Spice
  • Organic Turmeric
  • Salt
  • Spices
  • Turmeric
  • Water

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Honey

The honey comes from bees making this ingredient non-vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Cane sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is in situation where cane sugar would be classified as non-vegan by vegans. This sugar is very common in candy and sweet, but can also be found in other products as well as mustard. In it’s raw form cane sugar is always vegan, but when it gets refined it can cause problems for vegans.

The cane sugar is often refined to fit the products better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and this has made many vegans upset. There is no way to know this unless you contact the company and ask.

Natural Flavors

The second questionable ingredient is natural flavors. The problem with this ingredient is that it can consist of many ingredients and the sources could be animals or plants. So vegans can never be sure if this ingredient is vegan unless the product has a vegan label from a trusted organisation such as vegan.org or vegan society.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that some flavors of Heinz mustard is vegan and Heinz 100% Natural Yellow Mustard is probably vegan as well, but it contains natural flavors. Heinz mustard is my favorite and my kids love it as well, it goes perfect of hot dogs.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts