Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Gold Peak Tea Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Gold Peak tea is a brand of bottled tea that is made by The Coca-Cola Company. The tea is made with real brewed tea and real sugar cane juice. However, is Gold Peak Tea vegan?

All Flavors of Gold Tea are vegan because they are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Gold Peak Tea flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Sweet TeaVegan.
Unsweetened TeaVegan.
Zero Sugar Sweet TeaVegan.
Green TeaVegan.
Slightly Sweet TeaVegan.
California Raspberry TeaVegan.
Georgia Peach TeaVegan.
Lemon TeaVegan.
Lemonade TeaVegan.
Extra Sweet TeaVegan.

Gold Peak Tea Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Brewed Tea (Filtered Water, Black Tea Leaves)
  • Cane Sugar
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Citric Acid
  • Caramel Color
  • Aspartame
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Phosphoric Acid

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Cane sugar is somewhat of an questionable ingredient for vegans because there is a possibility that bone char has been used in the production process. In it’s raw form, cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when refined it might not always be.

The cane sugar is refined most of time, because it can fit products better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is sadly to use bone char from dead cows to bleach the sugar. Exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavors

The next questionable ingredient is natural flavors and this is an umbrella term, meaning that it often consists of several flavors. The source of these ingredients are not disclosed, so natural flavors could consist ingredients sourced from animals and that is why this ingredient is something that vegans needs to look out for.

The only time ingredients are disclosed in natural flavors is if it contains milk since many people can be allergic to milk.

Aspartame

This is a very controversial ingredient within the vegan community and we don’t all agree on this ingredient. Some say it’s vegan and other don’t. It’s known for being tested on animals in past and that is why one half argues that the ingredient should not be consumed even to this day.

While others say that we should be able to consume products with aspartame since the animal testing was so long time ago. Essentially it’s up to you and you decide what you want to eat in your vegan journey.

Conclusion

Four flavors of Gold Peak Tea being vegan is amazing and more flavors might also be vegan but they contain natural flavors. I have contacted the support about the natural flavors and they have replied the natural flavors is vegan-friendly.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts