Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Is Ghirardelli Brownie Mix Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Ghirardelli Brownie Mix is a delicious way to make brownies at home. This mix makes it easy to create tasty brownies that are perfect for any occasion. With just a few simple ingredients, you can bake delicious brownies that will satisfy any sweet tooth. However, Is Ghirardelli Brownie Mix vegan?

Ghirardelli Brownie Mix is not vegan because all flavors contains milk.

Below is a table showing Ghirardelli Brownie Mix flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Brownie MixNo, contains Milk.
Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie MixNo, contains Milk.
Ghirardelli Chocolate Supreme Brownie MixNo, contains Milk.

Ghirardelli Brownie Mix Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Flavors
  • Baking Soda
  • Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Chocolate Syrup
  • Corn Syrup
  • Enriched Bleached Flour
  • Folic Acid
  • Food Starch-Modified
  • High Maltose Corn Syrup
  • Lactose
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Milk Fat
  • Niacin
  • Palm And Soybean Oil
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Preservatives
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Salt
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Soy Lecithin (Emulsifier)
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Water
  • Wheat Flour
  • Wheat Starch
  • Whole Milk Powder

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made from milk such as whole milk powder, lactose and milk fat. Since it’s made from from cows, these ingredients are not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is the most common ingredients in candy, sweets and snacks, but can also be found in brownie mixes. Beet sugar and cane sugar are two very common sugar types with the latter being more popular in the candy industry.

The cane sugar is often refined so it’s easier to add the sugar in products. In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and the problem here is the fact that a popular method is to use bone char from dead cows. This is an issue for vegans, because exploiting animals while producing a product is not okay, resulting in vegans staying away.

It’s near impossible to know if this is the sugar that we consume so many vegans tends to stay away from cane sugar unless it raw or the product is labeled vegan from a trusted organisation like vegan.org and vegan society.

Palm Oil

The second questionable ingredient is palm oil and many vegans are staying away from palm oil because of the deforestation taking place. Companies are cutting down trees in order to make place for palm plantations and this is destroying the homes of orangutans, forcing them out of their normal habitat.

Why are so many companies producing palm oil? It’s because the most profitable vegetable oil per square meter and that is why it’s so lucrative. The industry was not regulated for some time and non-profit organisation was set in place to help companies product and buy sustainable palm oil.

It’s called RSPO and according to their member area, they are a RSPO member. This means that the palm oil in Ghirardelli Brownie Mix is indeed vegan-friendly.

Vegan Alternative To Ghirardelli Brownie Mix

I found a great vegan alternative called Pyure Organic Chocolate Brownie Mix.

Conclusion

Unfortunately non of the brownie mixes by Ghirardelli is vegan, but I found a really tasty alternative that is 100% vegan-friendly. I love brownies, but finding vegan ones can sometimes be tricky.

One positive thing to take from this article is that the palm oil in Ghirardelli Brownie Mix is vegan-friendly.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts