Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
When you think of classic childhood treats, few can compare to the sheer simplicity and enjoyment of Fun Dip. With its bright colors, sweet flavor, and nostalgic feel, Fun Dip is a treat that has been enjoyed by children for generations. But, is Fun Dip vegan?
Fun Dip might be suitable for dietary vegans, but they contain calcium stearate, artificial colors and natural flavors.
Below is a table showing Fun Dip flavors and its vegan status.
|Fun Dip Maui Punch Powder Candy||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
|Fun Dip Razz Apple Magic Dip||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
|Fun Dip Cherry Yum Diddly Dip||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
|Fun Dip Strawberry Smackeroo Dip||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
|Fun Dip Watermelon Whammo Dip||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
|Fun Dip Tartastic Mystery Dip||Maybe, contains Calcium Stearate and Natural Flavors.|
Fun Dip Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Blue 1
- Blue 1 Lake
- Calcium Stearate
- Natural Flavors
- Red 40 Lake
- Yellow 5
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
A common ingredient found in snacks is natural flavors. Natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it often consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are never disclosed on the ingredients label.
So it could contain ingredients sourced from animals and this could be hard for vegans to know, even when reading the ingredients label. The best way to know what is inside is to contact the company and ask.
There are a couple of ingredients that are controversial within the vegan community. One of them being artificial colors. The reason for this is that the animal testing that is being done on animals.
The testing is outdated and we can do a great job with modern testing methods such as computer simulations. There are also several health issues such as hyperactivity in kids. Some dietary vegans might consume these colors regardless.
Dextrose is a simple sugar made from corn and the problem here is the fact that corn is one of the most common GMO crops. the reason my vegans tends to stay away from GMO’s is the negative impact on the environment. GMO crops needs a high amount of herbicide which can pollute the surrounding ecosystem.
Fun Dip could be an option for dietary vegan but it still contains calcium stearate and natural flavors. Animal-derived ingredients could be found in both of them. Since Fun Dip contains artificial colors, it’s not suitable for ethical vegans.
Thanks for reading, take care!