Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Divine Chocolate was started in 1998 and has since then release many different delicious flavors of chocolate. With their chocolate having smooth texture and rich flavor, it’s no wonder why they have become so sought-after. But, is Divine Chocolate vegan?
Divine Chocolate has many vegan flavors such as Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Mint Crisp, Divine 70% Dark Chocolate, Divine 85% Dark Chocolate and Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Ginger & Orange just to name a few.
Below is a table showing Divine Chocolate flavors and its vegan status.
|Divine Salted Caramel Chocolate Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Mint Crisp||Vegan.|
|Divine Orange Milk Chocolate Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Advent Calendar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate||Vegan.|
|Divine 45% Milk Chocolate||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 34% Milk Chocolate With Orange Crisp||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Dark 70% Chocolate Hearts||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate Coins||Vegan.|
|Divine Dark 70% Chocolate Advent Calendar||Vegan.|
|Divine Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate Bar||Vegan.|
|Divine White Chocolate With Strawberries||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Speckled Mini Eggs||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 85% Dark Chocolate||Vegan.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Coins||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Ginger & Orange||Vegan.|
|Divine White Chocolate Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Organic Dark 85% Chocolate With Quinoa & Blueberry||Vegan.|
|Divine Dark 70% Chocolate Mini Eggs||Vegan.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Mini Eggs||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 60% Dark Chocolate With Pretzel & Caramel||Vegan.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Hearts||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Dark Chocolate Egg||Vegan.|
|Divine 60% Dark Chocolate With Pink Himalayan Salt||Vegan.|
|Divine Smooth Milk With Orange & Gingerbread||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Dark Chocolate Mint Crisp Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Milk & White Chocolate Cappuccino Bar||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Giant Coin||No, contains Milk.|
|Winter Warming Spiced Hot Chocolate||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Dark Chocolate After Dinner Ginger Thins||Vegan.|
|Divine Organic Dark 85% Chocolate With Lemon||Vegan.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Raspberries||Vegan.|
|Divine Dark Chocolate With Hazelnut Truffle||Vegan.|
|Divine Milk Chocolate Mini Bars||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate With Clementine||Vegan.|
|Divine Dark Chocolate After Dinner Mint Thins||Vegan.|
|Divine White Chocolate With Strawberries Hearts||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine Drinking Chocolate||Vegan.|
|Divine 38% Milk Chocolate With Salted Caramel||No, contains Milk.|
|Divine 70% Dark Chocolate Mini Bars||Vegan.|
Divine Chocolate Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Butterfat (Milk)
- Caramel Crisp
- Citric Acid
- Cocoa Butter
- Cocoa Mass
- Cream Powder
- Fairtrade Cocoa Butter
- Fairtrade Cocoa Mass
- Fairtrade Cocoa Powder
- Fairtrade Sugar
- Freeze Dried Raspberry Granules
- Glucose Syrup
- Modified Potato Starch
- Natural Vanilla Flavour
- Natural Raspberry Flavour
- Natural Strawberry Flavour
- Raw Cane Sugar
- Sea Salt
- Skimmed Milk Powder
- Sunflower Lecithin
- Sodium Alginate
- Whole Milk Powder
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
In the chocolate industry milk is a very commonly used ingredient and for Divine Chocolate, this is no different. Since the milk comes from cows, a lot of flavors are non-vegan.
Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community and reason for this is the risk of bone char from dead cows being used in the production process. But it’s not all types sugar that has this risk only refined cane sugar.
In the candy and sweets industry the cane sugar is often refined before it’s used in a product and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process would make that product non-vegan.
It’s amazing that Divine Chocolate has so many flavors and the reason for it is that they contain a high amount of cocoa and no milk. Another great thing about Divine Chocolate is that a lot of the ingredients are Fairtrade, which is a big plus. I hope you will enjoy some of their flavors, because I know I will.
Thanks for reading, take care!