Is Cookie Crisp Vegan 2023? All Ingredients Analyzed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Cookie Crisp is a crunchy, delectable breakfast cereal that’s been delighting generations of kids and adults alike since the 1970s. With its sweet, chocolate-chip cookie flavor, Cookie Crisp has become an American favorite. But, is Cookie Crisp vegan?

Cookie Crisp might be vegan but it contain natural flavors and vitamin D3, which could be derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Cookie Crisp flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Cookie CrispMaybe, contains Natural Flavors and Vitamin D3.

Cookie Crisp Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • A B Vitamin (Folic Acid)
  • A B Vitamin (Niacinamide)
  • Baking Soda
  • Brown Sugar Syrup
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Canola Oil
  • Caramel Color
  • Cocoa Processed With Alkali
  • Corn Meal
  • Corn Syrup
  • Iron And Zinc (Mineral Nutrients)
  • Natural Flavor
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Tricalcium Phosphate
  • Vitamin A (Palmitate)
  • Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate)
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate)
  • Vitamin D3
  • Whole Grain Corn
  • Yellow Corn Flour


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because in some cases sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being more popular in the candy and sweets industry.

Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined, it could become a problem for vegans. In this refining process the sugar is also bleached, where a common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors are an umbrella term, meaning that it can consist of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are never disclosed on the ingredients label. So if the ingredients are sourced from animals, it would not show on the ingredients label.


The reason I mention corn is because it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide to grow and this can pollute the surrounding environment, causing damage to the ecosystem.

Vitamin A (Palmitate) & Vitamin D3

Both these ingredients can be sourced from animals and Vitamin D3 is commonly derived from sheep’s wool.


There are so many different breakfast cereals today and while many of them contain Vitamin D3, there are still many flavors that are suitable for vegans. Vitamin D3 is a tricky ingredients and the source is not disclosed on the ingredients label, so if you want to eat Cookie Crisp then contacting the company would be the best option.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts