Is Chex Cereal Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Chex cereal is a classic and beloved breakfast cereal, having been around for generations. It was first released by the Ralston Purina Company in 1937, and has since become an iconic breakfast food in the United States. But, is Chex Cereal vegan?

Almost all flavors of Chex cereal might be vegan but they contain natural flavor and vitamin D3. Both of which could contain ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Chex Cereal flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Rice ChexMaybe, contains Vitamin D3
Corn ChexMaybe, contains Vitamin D3
Wheat ChexMaybe, contains Vitamin D3
Chocolate ChexMaybe, contains Natural Flavor & Vitamin D3.
Apple Cinnamon ChexMaybe, contains Natural Flavor & Vitamin D3.
Peanut Butter ChexMaybe, contains Natural Flavor & Vitamin D3.
Cinnamon ChexMaybe, contains Natural Flavor & Vitamin D3.
Blueberry ChexMaybe, contains Natural Flavor & Vitamin D3.
Honey Nut ChexNo, contains Honey.

Chex Cereal Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • A B Vitamin (Folic Acid)
  • A B Vitamin (Niacinamide)
  • Baking Soda
  • Baking Soda.
  • Blueberry Powder
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Canola Oil
  • Cinnamon
  • Cocoa Processed With Alkali
  • Corn Meal
  • Corn Starch
  • Dried Apples
  • Honey
  • Iron And Zinc (Mineral Nutrients)
  • Molasses
  • Monoglycerides
  • Natural Almond Flavor
  • Natural Flavor
  • Peanut Butter
  • Rice
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Vitamin A (Palmitate)
  • Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate)
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate)
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols)
  • Whole Grain Corn
  • Whole Grain Rice
  • Whole Grain Wheat


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since honey is made by bees, it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community and reason for this is the possible presence of bone char from dead cows. The most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being the most popular sugar in the candy and sweets industry.

Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined it could become a problem. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached, where a common method is to use bone char. This would make the sugar non-vegan in the eyes of vegans.

Natural Flavor

The second questionable ingredient is natural flavors and the problem with here is that it’s an umbrella term, meaning that companies can add whatever ingredients they wish to accomplish their taste inside natural flavors without needing to disclose all the ingredients.

If the ingredients are animal-sourced, they wouldn’t be disclosed on the ingredients label. So vegans needs to be careful when it comes to natural flavors and unless the product is labeled vegan, we can’t be sure.


The reason I mention corn is that it is one of the most common GMO crops in USA. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide and the problem with this is the possibility that is contaminates the surrounding environment, damaging it beyond repair

Vitamin A (Palmitate) & Vitamin D3

These ingredients can be derived from both plants and animals. Vitamin D3 can be derived from sheep wool and the only way to be sure about the source is to contact the company and ask.


All flavors of Chex cereal contains vitamin D3 and the source of this ingredient is unknown making it difficult to determine if they are vegan-friendly. This is a common problem for many cereal brands, because vitamin D3 is often added and the source is rarely disclosed.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts