Is Cascadian Farms Cereal Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Cascadian Farms Cereal is one of the most popular and beloved cereal brands on the market. It has been providing families with wholesome, delicious breakfast options since 1972. But, is Cascadian Farms Cereal vegan?

Cascadian Farms Cinnamon Crunch Cereal, Graham Crunch Cereal, Multi Grain Squares Cereal, Purely O’S Cereal and Raisin Bran Cereal are all vegan because they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Cascadian Farms Cereal flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Berry Vanilla Puffs CerealMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Buzz Crunch CerealNo, contains Honey.
Cinnamon Crunch CerealVegan.
Gluten Free Honey Vanilla Crunch CerealNo, contains Honey.
Graham Crunch CerealVegan.
Hearty Morning Fiber CerealNo, contains Honey.
Honey Nut O’S CerealNo, contains Honey.
Honey Oat Crunch CerealNo, contains Honey.
Multi Grain Squares CerealVegan.
No Added Sugar Mixed Berry CerealMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Organic Fruitful O’S CerealMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Purely O’S CerealVegan.
Raisin Bran CerealVegan.

Cascadian Farms Cereal Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Almonds
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Cane Sugar
  • Chickpea Flour
  • Cinnamon
  • Coconut Oil
  • Date Powder
  • Dextrose
  • Dried Strawberries
  • Dried Sweet Potato
  • Honey
  • Invert Cane Syrup
  • Maltodextrin
  • Molasses
  • Natural Flavor
  • Rice Flour
  • Rice
  • Sea Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols)
  • Whole Grain Corn Meal
  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Whole Grain Purple Corn Flour
  • Whole Grain Sorghum Flour
  • Whole Grain Wheat
  • Whole Grain Yellow Corn Meal
  • Yellow Corn Grits
  • Yellow Corn Meal


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since honey comes from bees it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community and reason for this is the risk of bone char being used in the production process. This problem is narrowed down to refined cane sugar, which means that raw cane sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly.

In the refining process of the sugar it’s also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting dead animals in the production process would technically make the product non-vegan.

Natural Flavor

The second questionable ingredient is natural flavors and this is an ingredient that many vegan need to be wary of. Natural flavors is an umbrella terms, which is a mix of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are very rarely disclosed on the ingredients label.

So companies can add ingredients that are animal-sourced without disclosing this and the best way to find out if it’s vegan-friendly or not is to contact the company and ask.

Corn & Soy

Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in USA and many vegans will stay away from these. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crop to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.


It’s great that 5 flavors of Cascadian Farms Cereal are vegan-friendly. A lot of their flavors contains honey and would not be suitable for vegans. Be sure to always check the ingredients label because companies can update their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts