Is Boom Chicka Pop Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Boom Chicka Pop is a brand of popcorn that is taking the snack world by storm. Boom Chicka Pop’s popcorn is made with all-natural ingredients and it is non-GMO, gluten-free, and whole grain. But, is Boom Chicka Pop vegan?

Boom Chicka Pop Sea Salt Popcorn and Light Kettle Corn both vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Boom Chicka Pop flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Sea Salt PopcornVegan.
Light Kettle CornVegan.
Sweet & Salty Kettle CornVegan, contains Cane Sugar.
Cheddar Cheese PopcornNo, contains Milk.
Dark Chocolate Flavored Drizzled Sea Salt Kettle CornNo, contains Milk.
Caramel & Cheddar Popcorn MixNo, contains Milk.
White Cheddar PopcornNo, contains Milk.
Real Butter PopcornNo, contains Milk.
White Chocolate & Peppermint Flavored Drizzled Kettle CornNo, contains Milk.
Hot Cocoa Marshmallow Flavored Drizzled Kettle CornNo, contains Milk.

Boom Chicka Pop Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Beet Juice Concentrate [for Color]
  • Brown rice Syrup
  • Butter
  • Buttermilk
  • Cane Sugar
  • Canola Lecithin
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Cheese Cultures
  • Cheese Seasoning
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Coconut Oil
  • Cultured Whole Milk
  • Enzymes
  • Expeller Pressed Palm Oil
  • Lactic Acid
  • Molasses
  • Natural Flavors
  • Non-GMO Sunflower Oil
  • Non-GMO Canola Oil
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Paprika Extract
  • Peppermint Candy Pieces
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Popcorn
  • Rice Syrup
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Whey
  • Whey Powder
  • Whole Grain Popcorn
  • Whole Milk Powder


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Several ingredients made from milk can be found such as whole milk powder, nonfat milk and cheese. Since it’s made from cow’s milk, these ingredient are therefore not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

This type of sugar is highly questionable within the vegan community. The reason for this is the presence of bone char from dead cows that is a possibility. In it’s raw form, cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but it’s often refined to fit product better and in this process the sugar is also bleached.

This is where the bone char comes in, because of the most common bleaching methods is to use bone char and exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism. Some vegans tends to stay away from cane sugar while others don’t, the choice is up to you.

Palm Oil

Another controversial ingredient around the world is palm oil and that the industry causes severe deforestation leaving wild animals such as orangutans without a home. This has lead to many people not only vegans to stay away from palm oil.

However there is a way for palm oil to be more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil that has minimal impact on the environment.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors can be tricky for vegans, because it’s an umbrella term, meaning that it consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label. This means that it could contain ingredients sourced animals.


Soy is a common GMO crop and the problem with soy is the high amount of herbicide used in order for it to grow. The herbicide can then pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it beyond repair.


It’s great that Boom Chicka Pop has some vegan flavors that we can add to our shopping list. Many of the flavors do contain ingredients made from milk making them unfit for vegans.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts