Is Blue Bunny Ice Cream Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Blue Bunny ice cream is a brand of ice cream that was first introduced in 1913. Blue Bunny ice cream is available in many different flavors and has a wide variety of products including ice cream bars, sundaes, cones, and more. But, is Blue Bunny ice cream vegan?

Blue Bunny ice cream is not vegan because it contains milk.

Below is a table showing Blue Bunny flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Load’d Cones Salted Caramel PecanNo, contains Milk.
Twist Cones Chocolate Peanut ButterNo, contains Milk.
Twist Cones Chocolate VanillaNo, contains Milk.
Twist Cones Strawberry CheesecakeNo, contains Milk.
Banana SplitNo, contains Milk.
Big Alaska BarNo, contains Milk.
Big Bopper SandwichNo, contains Milk.
Big Dipper Chocolate Lovers ConeNo, contains Milk.
Big Dipper Cookies ‘N Cream ConeNo, contains Milk.
Big Dipper Vanilla ConeNo, contains Milk.
BIG Double Strawberry SandwichNo, contains Milk.
BIG Mississippi Mud SandwichNo, contains Milk.
BIG Neapolitan SandwichNo, contains Milk.
BIG Vanilla SandwichNo, contains Milk.
Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Butter PecanNo, contains Milk.
Caramel Butter Pecan PralineNo, contains Milk.
Caramel Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Caramel Praline Crunch Frozen YogurtNo, contains Milk.
Cherrific CheesecakeNo, contains Milk.
Cherry Chocolate ChunkNo, contains Milk.
Chips Galore! SandwichNo, contains Milk.
ChocolateNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate Eclair BarNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate Lovers Variety Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate Lovers SandwichesNo, contains Milk.
Chocolate Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Chunky Chocolate ChipNo, contains Milk.
Cookies & CreamNo, contains Milk.
Cookies ‘N Cream BarNo, contains Milk.
Cookies ‘n Cream Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Cookies ‘N Cream SandwichNo, contains Milk.
Cookies, Candies, BrowniesNo, contains Milk.
Double Strawberry SwirlNo, contains Milk.
HEATH BarNo, contains Milk.
Homemade VanillaNo, contains Milk.
King Size Brownie Sundae ConeNo, contains Milk.
King Size Bunny Tracks ConeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Bars Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Bars Cookie DoughNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Bars Salted CaramelNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Bars Strawberry ShortcakeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Bars Super Fudge BrownieNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Cones Brownie BombNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Cones Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Cones Cookie DoughNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Cones Strawberry ShortcakeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Cake ObsessionNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Caramel Fudge BrownieNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Cherry CheesecakeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Chocolate Brownie BombNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Chocolate Caramel PretzelNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Cookie Crunch ‘n FudgeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Cookie Dough Co.No, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes French Silk PieNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Mint Chocolate ChunkNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Monster CookieNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Peanut Butter BunnyNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Salted Caramel PecanNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Strawberry ShortcakeNo, contains Milk.
Load’d Sundaes Turtle CheesecakeNo, contains Milk.
Mint Chocolate ChipNo, contains Milk.
Mint Cookie Crunch Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
NeapolitanNo, contains Milk.
Neapolitan SandwichesNo, contains Milk.
Nutt’n Better BarNo, contains Milk.
Peanut Butter PartyNo, contains Milk.
Peppermint StickNo, contains Milk.
Pistachio AlmondNo, contains Milk.
Rockin’ Rocky RoadNo, contains Milk.
Salted Caramel CrazeNo, contains Milk.
Simply Vanilla SandwichesNo, contains Milk.
Strawberry Shortcake BarNo, contains Milk.
Strawberry Shortcake Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Super Chunky Cookie DoughNo, contains Milk.
Super Fudge BrownieNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom Banana SplitNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom Bunny TracksNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom Butter PecanNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom Double Strawberry SwirlNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom VanillaNo, contains Milk.
Sweet Freedom Vanilla Krunch BarsNo, contains Milk.
The Classics Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Toasted Almond FudgeNo, contains Milk.
VanillaNo, contains Milk.
Vanilla BeanNo, contains Milk.
Vanilla Bean Frozen YogurtNo, contains Milk.
Vanilla ConesNo, contains Milk.
Vanilla Fudge BlastNo, contains Milk.
Vanilla Mini SwirlsNo, contains Milk.
Variety Pack ConesNo, contains Milk.

Blue Bunny Ice Creams Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Bleached Wheat Flour
  • Buttermilk
  • Canola Oil
  • Caramel Color
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Carrageenan
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Cocoa Processed With Alkali
  • Coconut Oil
  • Corn Syrup
  • Cream
  • Food Starch-Modified
  • Heavy Cream
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Milk
  • Molasses
  • Mono & Diglycerides
  • Natural Flavors
  • Palm Oil
  • Pecans
  • Pectin
  • Polysorbate 80
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Skim Milk
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Water
  • Whey
  • Xanthan Gum


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


All flavors contains ingredients made from milk and since the milk comes from cows, this ingredient is therefore not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a very common ingredient in many products and many vegans need to know that there is a situation where the sugar could be classified as non-vegan. The two most common types of sugar used are beet sugar and raw cane sugar, the latter being the most popular one.

Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined, it could become a problem for vegans. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached, where a common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting animals in the production process would make the sugar non-vegan in many vegans eyes.

Natural Flavor

The next questionable ingredient is natural flavors and this one is an umbrella term, which means that it consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are never disclosed on the ingredient list.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it would be impossible to know this just by reading the ingredients label. So vegans need to be careful when it comes to natural flavors.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is one of the most common oil used in the world today. It has been used in many products for a long time now and it’s even in the food that we eat. The reason for it is because it’s the best vegetable oil that can be grown per square meter.

Palm oil is also very controversial, because the production of the palm oil is taking place in the rainforest. This is destroying the homes of animals such as orangutan and rhinos, forcing them out of their natural habitat.

There is a solution called RSPO, which stands for Roundtable On Sustainable Palm Oil. This is an non-profit organisation that helps companies to produce and buy sustainable palm oil.

Mono & Diglycerides

This ingredient can be sourced from both animals and plants.

Soy & Corn

Soy and corn are two of the most common GMO crops and consuming GMO crops is a problem for many vegans. The reason for this is the fact that GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide and this can pollute the surrounding ecosystem, which can damage it severely.


It’s too bad that no flavors of Blue Bunny ice cream are vegan. Luckily for us vegans there are many brands that make vegan ice cream flavors such as Ben & Jerry’s. This ice cream is delicious and they have several vegan flavors.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts