Is Blue Bonnet Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Blue bonnet spread is a popular Southern United States condiment that has been enjoyed by families for generations. It is known for its rich, creamy flavor and smooth texture. This versatile spread can be used in a variety of recipes or as an accompaniment to other dishes. But, is Blue Bonnet vegan?

Blue Bonnet maybe vegan but contains natural flavors and vitamin A palmitate, which both could be contain ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Blue Bonnet flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Blue Bonnet Original StickNo, contains Milk.
Blue Bonnet Light StickMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Vitamin A Palmitate.
Blue Bonnet Original Soft SpreadMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Vitamin A Palmitate.
Blue Bonnet Light Soft SpreadMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Vitamin A Palmitate.
Blue Bonnet Calcium Soft SpreadMaybe, contains Natural Flavors & Vitamin A Palmitate.

Blue Bonnet Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Beta Carotene (Color)
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Mono- And Diglycerides
  • Monoglycerides
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Palm Oil
  • Phosphoric Acid (Acidulant)
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Salt
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean Oil
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Water
  • Whey
  • With Potassium Sorbate


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Milk is not a vegan-friendly ingredient since it comes from cows.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors

The next ingredient in this list is natural flavors and this is an ingredient that vegans needs to be careful about. Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients is never disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it would not show on the ingredients label, making it a very questionable ingredient for vegans.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is one of the most controversial ingredients in the world and it’s mostly known for the deforestation taking place to make room for the palm oil plantations. This is a problem both for the wild life and the environment.

There is a way to make palm oil more vegan-friendly, and that is called RSPO. This stands for Roundtable On Sustainable Palm Oil and it’s a non-for-profit organisation that helps companies to produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimal impact on the environment.

Mono- And Diglycerides & Vitamin A Palmitate

These two ingredient can be sourced from animals and plants.


Soy is one of the most common GMO crops and the problem with GMOs is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crops to grow. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause severe damage to the environment.


Some of the Blue Bonnet flavors might be vegan but they contains natural flavors and Vitamin A, which could potentially be derived from animals. These ingredients are always tricky and makes it’s hard to determine if a product is vegan. The best way would be to contact the company and ask.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts