Is Becel Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Becel is a brand of margarine that has been on the market for over 40 years. It is well known for its creamy taste and health benefits, and continues to be a popular choice among consumers looking for an alternative to butter. But, is Becel vegan?

Becel With Oat M!Lk, Becel Vegan, Becel Plant-Based Salted Bricks and Becel Plant-Based Unsalted Bricks are all vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Becel flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Becel With Oat M!LkVegan.
Becel OriginalNo, contains Milk.
Becel Buttery TasteNo, contains Milk.
Becel With Avocado OilNo, contains Milk.
Becel With Olive OilNo, contains Milk.
Becel VeganVegan.
Becel LightNo, contains Milk.
Becel Salt-FreeNo, contains Milk.
Becel Pro.ActivNo, contains Milk.
Becel Plant-Based Salted BricksVegan.
Becel Plant-Based Unsalted BricksVegan.
Becel Plant-Based Whipping CreamVegan.
Becel Plant-Based Salted SticksVegan.
Becel Plant-Based Unsalted SticksVegan.
Becel OilVegan.
Becel Olive PlusVegan.
Becel Avo PlusVegan.

Becel Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Alpha Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E)
  • Avocado Oil
  • Beta Carotene
  • Buttermilk Powder
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • Canola Oil
  • Citric Acid
  • Gluten-Free Oats
  • Guar Gum
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lentil Protein
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Mono And Di-Glycerides
  • Natural & Artificial Flavours
  • Oat Base
  • Olive Oil
  • Plant Sterol Esters
  • Palm & Palm Kernel Oil
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sucrose Easter Of Fatty Acids
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Vegetable Monoglycerides
  • Vitamin A Palmitate (Vitamin A)
  • Vitamin D2
  • Vitamin D3
  • Water
  • Whey Powder


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Milk is not a vegan-friendly ingredient since it come from cows.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a very common ingredient in candy and this can be a problem for vegans. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar. Both beet sugar and raw cane sugar is vegan, but often before cane sugar is used in a product it’s refined.

In this refining process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and this does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavourings

The next questionable ingredient is natural flavors. Natural flavors is often an umbrella term, meaning that it usually consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and vegans will never know. Companies do however disclose if it contains ingredients that is common allergies for people such as milk.

Palm & Palm Kernel Oil

Palm oil is not just a controversial ingredient for vegans, it’s a controversial ingredient for people all around the world. It causes a huge deforestation and forces wildlife to live in a harsh environment.

This is not only making vegans stay away from palm oil, but people who care about animals. Orangutans and rhinos are forced from their homes and this makes many people upset.

Solution to this is a non-profit organization called RSPO, which helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimal impact on the environment. This would also make the palm oil more vegan-friendly.

Vitamin A & D3

Both can be derived from animal and plants.


It’s amazing that so many flavors of Becel are vegan. A common ingredient in butter is milk and most brands use it in their butter. Becel also have some flavors containing milk but more than 50% of their flavors do not, making them perfect for vegans.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts