Are York Peppermint Patties Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

York Peppermint Patties have been a beloved treat for many years. Since their introduction in 1940, the classic combination of chocolate and mint has been delighting taste buds around the world. But, are York Peppermint Patties vegan?

York Peppermint Patties are not vegan because they contain milk and eggs.

Below is a table showing York Peppermint Patties flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
York Dark Chocolate Peppermint Covered PattiesNo, contains Milk & Eggs.
YORK Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patties Hearts Candy Valentine’s DayNo, contains Milk & Eggs.
YORK Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patties Snack Size CandyNo, contains Milk & Eggs.
York Thins Dark Chocolate Covered Peppermint PattiesNo, contains Milk & Eggs.
Dark Chocolate Peppemint Patties Candy MiniaturesNo, contains Milk & Eggs.
YORK Peppermint Patties Dark Chocolate Sugar Free CandyNo, contains Milk & Eggs.

York Peppermint Patties Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Chocolate
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Corn Syrup
  • Egg Whites
  • Invert Sugar
  • Lecithin (Soy)
  • Milk
  • Milk Fat
  • Natural Flavor
  • Oil Of Peppermint
  • PGPR
  • Sugar


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk & Eggs

Since milk and eggs comes from animals, these ingredients are not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients


This is a controversial food ingredient and reason for this is because of the fact that sugar could be classified as non-vegan. The most common sugar types used are beet sugar and cane sugar, they are often vegan with the exception of refined cane sugar.

The cane sugar often needs to be refined to fit the products and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows and this has made many vegans upset. Exploiting dead animals in the production process would make that product non-vegan.

Natural Flavor

This is a tricky ingredient for vegans and the reason is because natural flavors often consists of several ingredients. Sometimes it’s impossible for us to know the ingredients inside, because they are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

The only way to know for sure is to contact the company and ask.

Corn & Soy

Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and the problem with these crops is the high amount of herbicide needed in order for them to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.


York Peppermint Patties share a common problem with many other candy brands and it’s because they use milk in their products. Luckily more and more companies are becoming more aware for the vegan movement and are creating products that are suitable for vegan costumers.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts