Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Wotsits Vegan 2022? All Flavors Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Knowing which snacks are vegan or not can sometimes be tricky. Today we are taking a look at Wotsits, the perfect snack for movie nights and parties. My daughter wanted this snack for her birthday party and I ordered it without even thinking twice. The next day I started reading the ingredients wondering, are Wotsits vegan?

Wotsits are not vegan because they contain milk. Two questionable ingredients such as Disodium 5′-Ribonucleotide and Natural Flavourings can also be found in Wotsits. They can both be sourced from animals or plants.

Below is a table of flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Wotsits Really CheesyNo, contains Milk.View On Amazon

In this article I will discuss the ingredients that can be found in Wotsits.

Wotsits Ingredients

Below are the ingredients for Wotsits and as always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Maize, Rapeseed Oil,Cheese Flavour [Dried Cheese (from Milk) (7%), Milk Lactose, Flavour Enhancer (Disodium 5′-Ribonucleotide), Acid (Lactic Acid), Colours (Paprika Extract, Annatto), Natural Flavourings, Salt, Potassium Chloride].

[source]

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Dried cheese and milk lactose can be found in Wotsits.

These ingredients are not vegan since they are sourced from cows.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavourings

Natural flavourings or natural flavors is something that vegans needs to pay attention to. This is an umbrella term, which means that companies can put ingredients from animals or plants and call it natural flavors. Some companies uses this ingredients, to keep their secret ingredients intact, not needing to disclose them on the ingredients label.

Since Wotsits are vegetarian, this ingredients should be safe for vegans as well.

I will still give you some more information about this ingredient. There is an article at National Geographic that discloses the use of goo from the butt of beavers in vanilla flavors.

Disodium 5′-Ribonucleotide

This ingredient can be derived from both animals and plants.

FAQ’s

Are Wotsits Vegetarian?

Wotsits are vegetarian. Lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians can eat Wotsits since they contain milk.

Are Wotsits Gluten-Free?

Wotsits are gluten-free since they don’t contain any wheat. It’s important to note that according to their website that Wotsits are made in factories that also handles wheat, gluten and barley.

Conclusion

Veganism is increasing in popularity and with that so is the supply for vegan products. Companies know that veganism is here to stay so they create more and more vegan alternatives to their collections.

Veganism can mean different things to different people, but one thing that all have in common is the fact that vegans don’t eat anything from the animal kingdom. Some vegans still tend to stay away from things like non sustainable palm oil and artificial colors.

That is why I made this blog to help vegans determine if a product is vegan or not.

Thanks for reading, stay safe!

Recent Posts