Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Wonderful Pistachios Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Wonderful Pistachios are a healthy, delicious snack that can be enjoyed by people of all ages. They are a good source of protein, fiber, and healthy fats, and they can be a great way to satisfy a sweet tooth. But, are Wonderful Pistachios vegan?

Wonderful Pistachios Roasted & Salted, Lightly Salted and No Salt are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals. More flavors might be vegan, but they contain natural flavors.

Below is a table showing Wonderful Pistachios flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Wonderful Pistachios Roasted & SaltedVegan.
Wonderful Pistachios Salt & PepperMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Wonderful Pistachios Sweet ChiliMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Wonderful Pistachios Lightly SaltedVegan.
Wonderful Pistachios No SaltVegan.
Wonderful Pistachios No Shells Roasted & SaltedVegan.
Wonderful Pistachios No Shells Lightly SaltedVegan.
Wonderful Pistachios No Shells Chili RoastedMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Wonderful Pistachios No Shells Honey RoastedNo, contains Honey.

Wonderful Pistachios Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Citric Acid
  • Dextrose
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Extractives of Paprika
  • Garlic Powder
  • Honey
  • Lemon Juice Concentrate
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika and Turmeric Extracts
  • Pepper
  • Pistachios
  • Red Chili Pepper
  • Red Tabasco Pepper
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Vinegar
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Honey

Honey comes from bees and is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

In the candy and snacks industry, beet sugar and cane sugar are commonly used. Beet sugar is always 100% vegan and raw cane sugar is also vegan. However the cane sugar is often refined to fit the product better and in that process the sugar is also bleached.

In this bleaching process bone char from dead cows can be used. Now this is an problem for vegan, because exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavor

This ingredient is an umbrella term which means that it can contain many different ingredients and only be called natural flavors. This can cause problems for vegans, because the source of this ingredient almost never disclosed. Milk however is often disclosed for allergic purposes.

It common for vegans to stay away from natural flavors just to be safe. If a product does have a vegan label from a trusted organisation such as vegan.org or vegan society, then you can safely consume product.

Conclusion

It’s great that so many flavors are vegan and the flavors that contains natural flavors are probably also vegan, but I cannot be sure. The risk of containing animal-derived ingredients is always there.

A lot of vegans tends to eat candy and sweets even tho there’s always a risk with the sugar being bleached with bone char. The biggest win for vegans is the plant-based diet that will reduced the animal suffering tremendously.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts