Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Wise Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are taking a look at Wise potato chips. They have been around since 1921 and has a wide variety of flavors. This chips are still very popular and has earned it’s place at parties and occasions. But, are Wise chips vegan?

All flavors except Wise Honey BBQ Potato Chips and Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips are vegan. The reason these two flavors are not vegan is because they contain milk or honey.

Below is a table showing Wise chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Wise Golden Original Potato ChipsVegan.
Wise All Natural Potato ChipsVegan.
Wise Onion & Garlic Potato ChipsVegan.
Wise Honey BBQ Potato ChipsNo,contains Honey.
Wise Lightly Salted Potatos ChipsVegan.
Wise BBQ Potato ChipsDietary Vegan.
Wise Unsalted Potato ChipsVegan.
Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato ChipsNo, contains Milk.
Wise Ridgies All Natural Ridged Potato ChipsVegan.

For more vegan chips make sure to check our top list with over 130 vegan chips flavors.

Wise Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the Wise chips flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Flavor
  • Barley Malt Flour
  • Blue 1
  • Chili Powder
  • Citric Acid
  • Canola Oil
  • Cottonseed
  • Dextrose
  • Extractives of Paprika
  • Fructose
  • Garlic Powder
  • Honey
  • Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein
  • Lactose
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Potatoes
  • Red 40
  • Salt
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Soybean Flour
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Wheat Starch
  • Yeast
  • Yellow 5
  • Yellow 5 Lake
  • Sodium Citrate

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Lactose

Lactose is an ingredient derived from cows milk and is not vegan.

Honey

The second non-vegan ingredients is honey. Exploiting insects does not align with veganism either and while we take their honey it’s replaced with sugar.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

Blue 1, yellow 5 and red 40 can be found in Wise BBQ Potato Chips and this ingredient is a hot topic in the vegan community. The problem with these ingredient is the fact that are still being tested on animals, there are other method like computer simulations that is a great option.

Ethical vegans tends to stay away from this ingredient while dietary vegans might choose to consume artificial colors.

Natural Flavors & Spices

These ingredients can contain ingredients from plants or animals and vegans should always be causes when eating products that contains natural flavors. The only way to be sure about the source is to contact the company and ask.

Sugar

Sugar itself is a vegan ingredient, but there are instances where sugar can be classified as not vegan-friendly. The most common sugar used in the candy and snacks industry is cane sugar. This sugar needs to be refined to fit the product better and this is where the problem lies.

In the refining process, the sugar is also bleached and a common practice is to use bone char from dead cows. This has made the vegan community very upset and vegans tends to stay away from refined cane sugar that can’t verify that bone char has not been used.

Raw cane sugar and beet sugar can also be used sometimes and these are 100% vegan.

Soy

A quick mention about soy in USA. It’s one of the most common GMO crops and the problem with this is the high amount herbicide that is needed to keep pestilence away and gain good yields. This can damage the surrounding ecosystem severely.

FAQ

Are Wise Chips Vegetarian?

All flavors of Wise Chips are vegetarian, with the exception of Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips which is suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Wise Golden Original Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise All Natural Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise Onion & Garlic Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise Honey BBQ Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise Lightly Salted Potatos ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise BBQ Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise Unsalted Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato ChipsLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Wise Ridgies All Natural Ridged Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.

Are Wise Chips Gluten-Free?

Wise Honey BBQ Potato Chips and Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips are not gluten-free, while the rest of the flavors are gluten-free.

Are Wise Chips Dairy-Free?

Wise Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips contains milk and the rest of the flavors are dairy-free.

Conclusion

It’s great that Wise chips has so many option for vegans.

Veganism is increasing in popularity and so demand for new vegan products.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts