Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Voortman Wafers Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Voortman Wafers have right flavor and are crispy and delicious. These wafers come in a variety of flavors, such as strawberry, chocolate, and vanilla. But, are Voortman Wafers vegan?

Voortman Peanut Butter Wafers is indeed vegan-friendly, but the rest of flavors are not vegan because they contain milk and egg.

Below is a table showing Voortman Wafers flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Voortman Peanut Butter WafersVegan.
Voortman Vanilla WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Strawberry WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Chocolate WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Orange Créme WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Raspberry Lemonade WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Pumpkin Spice WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman S’mores WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Tropical Fruit WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Banana WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Chocolate & Raspberry WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Lemon WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Key Lime WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Voortman Raspberry WafersNo, contains Milk & Egg.

Voortman Wafers Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Baking Soda
  • Canola Oil
  • Cornstarch
  • Egg
  • Enriched Flour
  • Riboflavin
  • Iron
  • Soybean
  • Folic Acid
  • Niacin
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Malted Barley
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Sugar
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Palm Oil
  • Natural Flavor
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Wheat
  • Salt
  • Strawberry Powder

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

The milk comes from cow’s and is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Egg

The same verdict goes for eggs, not vegan, because it normally comes from hens.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a very common ingredient in Wafers and for vegans, sugar could be a problem. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, the latter being the most popular one. Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined it can cause problems for vegans.

In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common bleaching method is to bone char from dead cows. Exploiting dead animals in the production process would technically make the product non-vegan.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient and the industry has made many people around the world very upset. The reason for this is the severe deforestation that is taking place to make room for the industry. This has left wild life without a home such as orangutans.

There is a way to make the palm oil vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation that helps companies produce sustainable palm oil that has minimal effect on the environment.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors can be a tricky ingredient for vegans because it often consists of several ingredients and the problem with this is the fact that the source of these ingredients are very rarely disclosed on the ingredients label. So if the ingredients are sourced from animals, it would not show on the ingredients label.

Vegan Alternative To Voortman Wafers

I searched a lot and I found some more vegan wafers flavors from other brands and I recommend that you check out Ruger Wafers.

Read More: Are Ruger Wafers Vegan 2022?

FAQ

Are Voortman Wafers Vegetarian?

Voortman Peanut Butter Wafers are suited for all vegetarians and the rest of flavors are suited for lacto-ovo vegetarians because they contain both milk and eggs.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Voortman Peanut Butter WafersAll vegetarians.
Voortman Vanilla WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Strawberry WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Chocolate WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Orange Créme WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Raspberry Lemonade WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Pumpkin Spice WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman S’mores WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Tropical Fruit WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Banana WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Chocolate & Raspberry WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Lemon WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Key Lime WafersLacto-Ovo.
Voortman Raspberry WafersLacto-Ovo.

Conclusion

Finding vegan-friendly wafers is not easy, because two common ingredients are milk and egg. The same goes for Voortman Wafers, but there is at least one flavor for vegans, Voortman Peanut Butter Wafers.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts