Are Van’s Waffles Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If you’re looking for a tasty and easy breakfast option, look no further than Van’s Waffles! This delicious product is a tasty and nutritious way to start the day. Made with whole grain goodness, these waffles are sure to satisfy your taste buds. But, are Van’s Waffles vegan?

All flavors of Van’s Waffles are vegan except Multigrain Waffles because it contains honey.

Below is a table showing Van’s Waffles flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Ancient Grain Waffles Gluten FreeVegan.
Original Waffles Gluten FreeVegan.
Blueberry Waffles Gluten FreeVegan.
Apple Cinnamon Waffles Gluten FreeVegan.
Original Waffles ProteinVegan.
Blueberry Waffles ProteinVegan.
Chocolate Chip Waffles ProteinVegan.
Multigrain WafflesNo, contains Honey.

Van’s Waffles Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Amaranth And Millet Flours
  • Ancient-Grain Flour Blend
  • Apple Juice Concentrate
  • Baking Powder
  • Baking Soda
  • Barley
  • Blueberry Pieces
  • Brown Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Dark Rye
  • Dried Blueberry
  • Enriched Flour
  • Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • Flax Seed
  • Folic Acid
  • Fruit Juice Blend
  • Gluten Free Blend
  • Gluten Free Mix
  • Grain Blend
  • Guar Gum
  • Inulin
  • Juice Blend
  • Juice Concentrate
  • Malt Extract
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Millet
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Natural Vanilla Extract
  • Natural Wheat Protein Isolate
  • Niacin
  • Non-Gmo Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • Oat
  • Oat Fiber
  • Oats
  • Organic Blueberry Flavor
  • Organic Dried Blueberries
  • Organic Honey
  • Organic Natural Flavor
  • Organic Potato Starch
  • Organic Rice Flour
  • Organic Sunflower Oil
  • Peach And Pear Juice Concentrates)
  • Potato Starch
  • Qui Noa
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Rice Bran
  • Rice Flour
  • Rice
  • Sea Salt
  • Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Sorghum
  • Soy Flour
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sugar
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Teff
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Van’S 8 Whole Grains Mix
  • Van’S Power Grain Mix
  • Van’S Power Grains Base Mix
  • Vital Wheat Gluten
  • Water
  • Wheat
  • Wheat Flour
  • Wheat Gluten
  • Wheat Protein Isolate
  • Whole Wheat Flour


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since honey is made by bees, vegans can’t eat it.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community. In the candy and sweets industry the most common sugars used are beet sugar and cane sugar. Beet sugar is always vegan and so is raw cane sugar, but the cane sugar is often refined to fit the product and that can cause problems for vegans.

In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process would make that sugar non vegan.

Natural Flavor

The next ingredient on our questionable ingredients list is natural flavors and this one is hard for vegans to identify because it’s an umbrella term. Meaning that it consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that the company can add any ingredient they wish to and only call it natural flavors. So we need to be careful when it comes to natural flavors.


Soy is one of the most common GMO crops in the US. The problem with GMO crops is the high amount of herbicide that is needed for the plants to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause severe damage to the environment.


It’s amazing that 7 flavors of Van’s Waffles are vegan-friendly since they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals. Milk and honey are two common ingredients that some companies often add into their waffles flavors, so always read the ingredients label first.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts